 | Why are websites blocked? Trying to go to a website, and some times it will work and some times it will not. It's a legit, clean site, so idk why it is blocked
The site is: »www.ftazeta.com
Is there a reason or is it on my end? |
|
 GonePremium join:2011-01-24 Fort Erie, ON kudos:3 | I can get to it fine from my Start connection at home, but I use Google DNS.
Hehe, FTA, oh how I miss thee. |
|
 bt join:2009-02-26 canada kudos:1 Reviews:
·Start Communicat..
| reply to kcorscadden said by kcorscadden:Trying to go to a website, and some times it will work and some times it will not. It's a legit, clean site, so idk why it is blocked If you can get to it sometimes, odds are it isn't blocked. |
|
 2 edits | reply to kcorscadden I can reach it via Start DSL, using Start DSL's auto-assigned DNS servers.
*** edit... I THINK I WAS WRONG! I was apparently being re-directed to some index page (by parkingcrew?) ***
But, I didn't get an error, and I had no idea what that page should look like! Address bar said www.ftazeta.com...
I later tried google's DNS, and got a completely different page.
So, who re-directed me? I could see that happening on OPEN_DNS, but using Start's DSL DNS?  (man... I thought I at least partially understood some of this DNS stuff!) |
|
 GonePremium join:2011-01-24 Fort Erie, ON kudos:3 | Try Google DNS instead? 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4. |
|
 | I'll see if it's my anti-virus (Kaspersky IS) blocking it.
The interesting part is that some times I can get into it with no problems, and other times it doesn't |
|
 | Nope not Kaspersky, so I tried what Gone suggested and now it works....
Thanks Gone |
|
 | What DNS were you originally using? Cable or DSL? |
|
 | Was using Teksavvy DSL, now using Start Cable. Didn't have any DNS entered before, now have 8.8.8.8 entered and it seems to be working. |
|
 hitachi369Embrace Your RightsPremium join:2001-10-03 Grand Rapids, MI kudos:4 Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to kcorscadden
Blocked for me, but I think that is for a different reason. hitachi's Employeer Electronic Communications policy and the Employee Policy Manual restricts access to this web page. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- URL: » www.ftazeta.com/You are: My employee number Workstation ID: My employee workstation IP Address: 10.224.18.219 And Today is: 11/12/2012 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If you feel you have reached this page in error, and you think that you are attempting to access a legitimate business site, contact the Help Desk at help number to report the issue. Please have the following information available: Your Employee # Website (URL listed above) that you are attempting to access Last date that the website worked (if applicable) If you are on a website and are having problems with accessing a link, please note the page that you are trying to access. (If you put your mouse over the link, the link name should appear in the lower LEFT of your web browser window). Notice: Due to the continued current and emerging threat of email based attacks on the hitachi's employeers network, we have determined that access to web based email services will be prohibited indefinitely in accordance with the "Electronic Communications Policy." -- STOP THE NSA WIRETAPS
They who would give up an essential liberty for temporary security, deserve neither liberty or security ~Benjamin Franklin |
|
 | reply to kcorscadden
 Real Site? |
kcorscadden... Just to confirm, is this the real site you wanted?
Because... earlier today, the Start DSL DNS system took me there; different than back on Nov. 12.
Tonight, Start DSL DNS takes me to the other site (search/index site). This flip/flopping is what you encountered before, I guess.
Strange! I'm probably going back to google's DNS, just for some consistency.
BTW, and FYI, back on Nov. 12, OPEN DNS also took me to the wrong site. TSI had a DNS puzzle similar to this 2 or 3 weeks ago on their forum.
Is there an easy, short explanation?
This seems like it could be quite ripe for abuse (site hijacking)! Or is this just the nature of the DNS system? |
|
 roccaStart.caPremium join:2008-11-16 London, ON kudos:11 | matrix:~# whois ftazeta.com ... Name Servers: ns3.ftazeta.com ns4.ftazeta.com
matrix:~# nslookup www.ftazeta.com ns3.ftazeta.com Server: ns3.ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93#53
www.ftazeta.com canonical name = ftazeta.com. Name: ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93
matrix:~# nslookup www.ftazeta.com ns4.ftazeta.com Server: ns4.ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93#53
www.ftazeta.com canonical name = ftazeta.com. Name: ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93
matrix:~# nslookup www.ftazeta.com 8.8.8.8 Server: 8.8.8.8 Address: 8.8.8.8#53
Non-authoritative answer: www.ftazeta.com canonical name = ftazeta.com. Name: ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93
matrix:~# nslookup www.ftazeta.com 64.140.114.21 Server: 64.140.114.21 Address: 64.140.114.21#53
Non-authoritative answer: www.ftazeta.com canonical name = ftazeta.com. Name: ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93
matrix:~# nslookup www.ftazeta.com 64.140.114.22 Server: 64.140.114.22 Address: 64.140.114.22#53
Non-authoritative answer: www.ftazeta.com canonical name = ftazeta.com. Name: ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93
matrix:~# nslookup www.ftazeta.com 64.140.114.23 Server: 64.140.114.23 Address: 64.140.114.23#53
Non-authoritative answer: www.ftazeta.com canonical name = ftazeta.com. Name: ftazeta.com Address: 79.142.72.93
...so their name servers, googles and ours all show 79.142.72.93 for the IP, for both of their name servers (a no-no) as well as their web site. I'm guessing this is a site that is bouncing around between providers or undergoing some other change. |
|