share rss forum feed

nitzguy
Premium
join:2002-07-11
Sudbury, ON
reply to coaxguy

Re: [TV] Possible to use DCT6416/2000 from Shaw BC on Cogeco Ont

said by coaxguy:

Well I stand from personal experience, and if it can be activated then AWESOME. More power to you to keep money out of Cogecos hands.

Like I said im a FORMER installer and never been prouder to give my cash to Start for my inet and Shaw for my Satellite. Speaking from experience, I have NEVER been able to get the activation department to active a non Cogeco oriented receiver.

The tech routing and install program I used, if I put in a number that hasnt been scanned into the Cogeco system, it would say.... "BOX NOT FOUND IN INVENTORY".

At which point I would call in. Giving the activations agent the serial and unit address UA, they would look it up, and if they could not find it in any corp (area), they would not be able to assign the box billing codes (2 letter acronyms to enable or disable channels ie. +AE).

Also like I said above. I bought a DCX off a friend who moved to Niagara from Owen Sound and went with Bell here. I tried to activate it, as I said above. Would not work.

Why dont you give the activations department a call to get the final result.

1-800-267-9000, I will PM you the silent prompt to get right through with tech priority.

Ahh digital activations....they were always a "unique bunch"....There's probably still a DCT2000 in Hamilton that I had activated...I actually went back to Mountain cable and was able to swap out my box that had a different OOB (who knows why Cogeco and Mountain at the time used different OOB's, Mountain used 75.25mhz at the time and Cogeco used 72.75...anywho) as the big joke was I was across the street from a Cogeco area and I worked for the company....