spc
Search similar:

uniqs

tr6scott
join:2002-03-23
Oxford, MI

1 edit

tr6scott

Uverse Installer did not remove DSL whole house filter.

Edited title, I'm a Uverse Newb, after 10+ years of att dsl. Not that the installer was a Newb, title was confusing after I read it.

Uverse installed on Thursday, we converted from DSL that I have had for years. I was looking at the install yesterday, and noticed that the installer left in the DSL whole house filter to the voice lines.

Is that standard practice? I would have thought that the installer would eliminate devices not needed and have potential to fail, and impact service. With DSL I have had to replace the whole house filter 3 times in about 8 years.

Does uverse need the filter? I would have thought that the iNid separated the voice from the data signals internally. Although I have not seen the wiring diagram for the system between the iNid and the voice, and the internal router.
Ernest House
Premium Member
join:2008-08-17
Boca Raton, FL

Ernest House

Premium Member

Wow. I haven't visited this forum in years but after just ordering uVerse 12MBS Internet, I was wondering about the whole house filter and BAM. THere's a question about it! Love this place.

ILpt4U
Premium Member
join:2006-11-12
Saint Louis, MO
ARRIS TM822
Asus RT-N66

ILpt4U

Premium Member

If you have Line Share U-Verse (ADSL2+ or VDSL2 flavors), a whole-house filter with a data home run is still a good idea

To the OP: Do you have the iNID system? And if so, how is the whole house filter wired? There really is no room inside the iNID for a NID module whole house filter...

Lagz
Premium Member
join:2000-09-03
The Rock

Lagz to tr6scott

Premium Member

to tr6scott
AT&T still recommends filters for U-verse.

»Re: U-Verse Constant Drops @ Night

»www.att.com/esupport/art ··· jTVMmEaX
U-verse customers who also have traditional phone service need to use line filters.

tr6scott
Oxford, MI

tr6scott to ILpt4U

to ILpt4U
Hey ILpt4U,