McBrain
BRB Face Melting

join:2010-05-06
Kalimdor
kudos:2
reply to Krisnatharok

Re: AMD vs I-core

Sorry for putting out bad gouge.

I was speaking based on my experience, and I'm 100% convinced that the $200 I spent on those two parts went a hell of a long way. Granted, I bought a Phenom II BE and not a Bulldozer chip, and I knew from the word go that I was sacrificing performance for price. I feel like the $90 I spent on my cpu definitely wasn't a bad decision and I still feel like I came out on top in the price/performance ratio...Granted, I'm more than likely wrong, and surely I'll have a change of heart when I buy my first Intel chip. But I'm new to this whole community, and you've gotta learn somehow...right?
--
McBrain#1430

Name's Ash...Housewares.

Krisnatharok
Caveat Emptor
Premium
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit
kudos:12
Talking about Phenom II and Bulldozer/Piledriver architecture is an apples and oranges comparison when looking at the relative value vs. Intel.

Krisnatharok
Caveat Emptor
Premium
Earth Orbit
reply to Ignorant
said by Ignorant :

Actually, I didn't buy components, I bought a system through cyberpower pc. The 8 core AMD FX-8120 system and the 4 core i5-3570k system, with all other components being the same were ~$750 and ~$850 respectively. I was trying to keep the price under ~$800 (and would have preferred $700), and the AMD 8 core was offered as a free upgrade over the AMD FX-6100 6 core, which was only $30 more than the AMD FX-4100 4 core.

I tend to have a lot of programs open when playing WoW - usually at least mumble, a web browser, email application, sometimes other stuff as well. Playing on my current off-the-shelf laptop, I'm often in mid single digit framerates. I'm hoping do all this, plus FRAPS and have improved framerates. My assumption was that it would assign a core to each app. Was this incorrect?

Thanks for info.