how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Nordy

join:2007-10-20
kudos:1

Secret to creating smooth, clear text logos for websites

What is the right way to create smooth, non jagged text for web sites?

I did a 2 word logo in fireworks CS 5, saved it as png, and linked it to my test web page, and its borders look so choppy. Logos on sites like microsoft etc have nice smooth borders.

I've set my Aliasing to Smooth-Anti Aliasing.

Any secrets you web designers have that you can share?

Thanks

DC DSL
There's a reason I'm Command.
Premium
join:2000-07-30
Washington, DC
kudos:2
I'm sure the graphics pros will probably slap me with a mackerel for being so pedestrian but...

Since I'm not a graphic artist and have to come up with text banners and headings pretty frequently, I always make the original "huge" and 300 or 600dpi. Save it at the full size/resolution. Then I resize and Save As at the various smaller resolutions I need. Relying on HTML sizing is not at all reliable...especially if you're going for a size that isn't a clean multiple, or is larger than the original.
--
"Dance like the photo isn't being tagged; love like you've never been unfriended; and tweet like nobody is following."

cdru
Go Colts
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-14
Fort Wayne, IN
kudos:7
reply to Nordy
Are you resizing (either up or down) the image via html? Or displaying it the originally produced size? Transparent or solid background? 8 or 24 bit png?

Creating the image as a vector image in Illustrator and exporting directly also to the desired size can also improve the quality as oppose to taking a raster-based image and doing the same. This is similar to what DC was saying with the high resolution image...you just have in essence infinitely many dpi with vector based images.

Nordy

reply to Nordy
I'm using 8 PNG, 72 pixels per inch (can't seem to find dots per inch), transparent. The image i'm displaying is the same size as the image I've created. No HTML scaling being used.