how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Cliffb

@vf.net.nz

USG 20 vpn - struggling to get this to work

Hi

I am very new to the USG 20 and struggling to get a remote client to site vpn working.

I am not too bothered if its IPsec or ssl, which ever works.

What I want to setup is a windows 7 pc to connect to the remote network to have access to the remote lan, sounds simple, but I am missing something.
I used the wizard to create the vpn config (IPsec) with a shared key. now I have set the win 7 client up to connect with that key, it then asks for user/password, but I am not sure where to assign users to have access to the vpn,

I am also not sure in the wizard what needs to go in the remote policy ip/mask, do I leave that at 0.0.0.0 /255.255.255.0
I have the latest firmware on this device so some of the manual I have seems to differ.

So My question(s) are

1. the vpn wizard what info do I need for the remote policy
2. how do assign users to have access through the tunnel
3. anything else I need to know to get this working

cant seem to find anything step by step that works....help please!

thanks
Cliff

Brano
I hate Vogons
Premium,MVM
join:2002-06-25
Burlington, ON
kudos:10
Reviews:
·TekSavvy DSL
·Bell Fibe

For Windows you need L2TP VPN.
Check the manual page 85++ and page 91++ »ftp://ftp.zyxel.com/ZyWALL_USG_20/user···_Ed1.pdf

Additional info
Support note »ftp://ftp.zyxel.com/ZyWALL_USG_20/supp···3.00.pdf
This may be also helpful »L2TP VPN on USG - quick how-to

hyde1

join:2012-11-16
reply to Cliffb

Cliff, good luck with this.
I am on the same boat, I followed everything on the PDF (including replicating what is explained in the video that's embedded in the PDF) to the dot, yet I still cannot connect to VPN.
I keep getting this error 787 on my Win 7 Pro, and when I check the log, I see this:

»gyazo.com/b7e1f151b8921ba8ed3171···53563794