1 edit

Larhleolynx

Trying to help a friend

Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
Hey there folks,

I've been coming to dslreports for several years for information, but I've never had to ask a direct question, because someone has already asked and its been solved. Today is different though, because a guy a work with is trying to get DSL installed to his apartment. He doesn't want Bell because he is afraid of the download caps. So he wants to get either Primus' unlimited package, or TekSavvy. The problem starts there, he has called both companies and they have informed him that they can't supply him DSL due to line quality. One of the phone support people told him upto his demarc they were reading a solid 6meg connection, but upto the wall jack was quite degraded. I think they said 0.9meg down by 0.64meg up.

I only have basic wiring skills, but I'm pretty certain I can do the work if someone can tell me what is wrong, if anything in the situation. I really appreciate any help that anyone can give in this manner, my friend really does not want to deal with Bell at all.

Here are the pictures:(If I need to take more, it isn't a problem)

nunya
LXI 483
MVM
join:2000-12-23
O Fallon, MO
·Charter

nunya

MVM

Your friend is probably being fed a line of BS by the CLECs. There is no "magical" line test that a CLEC can do to give the results you described without a dispatch.
Yes, they can MLT for length, load coils, and resistive faults. They can't test for prem or near prem speeds without #) wiring the circuit and #2) boots on the ground.

Also, if this is a rented apartment, you'll probably need the LL permission to do anything with the wiring.
Other than generally sloppy workmanship, there's really not much to talk about in the pictures. It does look like that NID serves several units, so you should be careful about what you touch. You could very easily knock the neighbors OOS, and they will be pissed.