share rss forum feed

brookeKrige

join:2012-11-05
San Jose, CA
kudos:3
reply to gadawg

Re: New install and existing router

Bit off OP's topic, but for my own curiosity:

Saw option#2 case (config your router as wireless-AP) for a while. Ended once he tried using its QoS to prioritize VOIP devices: rude awakening that [linksys E4200] QoS settings do not work in bridge-mode, nor even in informal bridge config (just disabling DHCP&NAT and avoiding its WAN port).

Option#1 worked with and without placing in DMZ+. Posters HEAVILY favor DMZ+ mode. As a newbie, I don't fully understand why yet (for majority installs not needing port-forwarding). One implied it avoids double-NAT, which was implied to break some VOIP devices (SIP-ALG packet rewriting stuff?).

With router in DMZ+ of 3800HG I saw RG's LAN - IP Allocation page say router was Firewall=Disabled (and didn't allow enabling it). Again, posters and obsolete RG manuals HEAVILY claim router in DMZ+ mode is still somehow firewall protected; and I don't understand yet what subset survives despite Firewall=Disabled.

For option#1 (with DMZ+) case, saw both the router (192.168.2.x) and RG's (192.168.1.254) config web-GUI's were accessible (from the router's LAN). Not sure why (some posts appeared to imply RG's config IP should become unreachable). The router's WAN broadcasts for a DHCP server, the RG answers (to assign router the RG's self-same WAN IP), therefore router makes routing-table entry for RG's LAN IP (i.e. RG is reachable by side-effect of the RG answering as a DHCP server)?

techguyga
Premium
join:2003-12-31
Buford, GA
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse
Hi brookeKrige See Profile,

I'll take a stab at some of these...
quote:
Saw option#2 case (config your router as wireless-AP) for a while. Ended once he tried using its QoS to prioritize VOIP devices: rude awakening that [linksys E4200] QoS settings do not work in bridge-mode, nor even in informal bridge config (just disabling DHCP&NAT and avoiding its WAN port).