kudos:101
Reviews:
·DIRECTV
·AT&T Midwest
·magicjack.com
·Google Voice

2 recommendations

Public service message-Neighbor's paid for connections

Point being: We ABSOLUTELY WILL NOT do the following to your neighbor's Uverse service they are paying for.

1.) give you the default password to or tell you the password to your neighbor's 2wire/uverse router
2.) help you disable the firewall
3.) increase speeds and/or change settings on the neighbor's connection (they are paying for).

We will tell you the default answer of "Contact your neighbor for access and password reset issues as it is their paid for service!"

Truthfully: this isn't a concern and technically this is a Customer Premise problem! This is not an AT&T network problem!

Cases in point (names stripped/redacted) or no names left. Yes me and my contacts got these!

Example #1

"Hello, my next door neighbors Internet is very slow. I have been using his wifi for several years now and suddenly my download speed has dropped. Is there any way I can speed it up without asking him, as we're not on speaking terms since I spat on one of his children."

My answer:

I would suggest either one of the following

1.) order your own service.
2.) make peace and contact your neighbor.

Thanks
David

Example #2

Yes, I did it. I am on my kind neighbors' internet. I was fiddling with firewall settings on my account and rendered myself unable to view web pages, including homeportal/home and 192.168.1.254. I was quite close to fixing this via the ATT Uverse website, but was unable to (as I'd like to) disable ATT's firewall. Help! Will be checking back promptly. Thanks all!

my answer:

Are you sure your neighbor didn't kick you out from playing with their router? I feel I cannot resolve this for you as you are not the actual end user with the service. Best I can say is to contact the neighbor with the problem and resolve the issue with them as it is their account.

Thanks
David

Example #3