how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Banaticus1

join:2007-11-17
Redlands, CA

Need to get a connection 800-1000 meters out

So, we need to get a connection out to run an IP camera so we can keep an eye on the back gate to the property. We'll be running power out there too, but it would sure make things easier if everything could be running in the same pipe for most of the length. So, I understand that single mode fiber can be run for about 900 meters? Anyone have any suggestions for IP cameras that easily integrate with fiber optic? I've never done anything like this before, but I want to avoid having to set up multiple router stands along the way like I'd have to do it I was running cable.

ilikeme
I live in a van down by the river.
Premium
join:2002-08-27
Sugar Land, TX
kudos:1

Why not just use wireless? If you really want to use fiber, a fiber to Ethernet converter located near the camera would probably be the best route.

Still me

@verizon.net

There's a lot of trees, really a lot of trees, in between and the terrain changes somewhat so even if we didn't have all the trees there we still wouldn't have line of sight. A wireless signal doesn't really have much hope of making it that far.

balazone
60 billion
Premium
join:2002-04-01
Wheeling, WV
Reviews:
·Insight Communic..
reply to Banaticus1

You need two of these (or similar)
»www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Fibe···02Q0WMWQ

These boxes basically extend your LAN out over the fiber, they do not do any routing or switching.

On the far end you can simply plug in your IP Camera (I would recommend something from Axis) or add a switch then you can add multiple cameras.

Think of this as a very long ethernet cable.

Expand your moderator at work

LazMan
Premium
join:2003-03-26
canada
reply to Banaticus1

Re: Need to get a connection 800-1000 meters out