 TSI MarcPremium,VIP join:2006-06-23 Chatham, ON kudos:16 | Blog: Recent Developments in Canadian Copyright Law Hey all,
I posted a short blog on Friday but didn't have a chance to get back here to tell you guys.
Here's the link: »wp.me/p1YIXQ-7U
Tomorrow we will also be sending out a customer email notice along with a French version. -- Marc - CEO/TekSavvy |
|
 | reply to TSI Marc
Re: Blog: Recent Developments in Canadian Copyright Law thanks for this post.
piracy used to be mostly in 3rd world countries as most people living there can barely afford food, and everyone needs art/entertainment...and a way to get it...
piracy is here right now thanks to the new state of the `middle class` in our country.
as anything else, the governments once again chose to protect the `rights` of the big corporations.
spending millions of tax dollars to protect corporate profits instead of helping citizens make a decent wage -enough to help them pay and be ok with purchasing songs, movies, games etc. sad state of afairs. |
|
 Jaxom join:2012-03-10 East York, ON | reply to TSI Marc Tips:
- Don't seed torrents. As soon as you get your stuff, disconnect.
- Look into switching to newsgroups. You don't upload so the lawyers don't go after you. I pay $10 a month for unlimited. |
|
|
|
 mazhurgPremium join:2004-05-02 Portage La Prairie, MB | said by Jaxom:Tips:
- Don't seed torrents. As soon as you get your stuff, disconnect.
- Look into switching to newsgroups. You don't upload so the lawyers don't go after you. I pay $10 a month for unlimited. Even those are now being targeted.
»www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/i···own.html |
|
 Reviews:
·TekSavvy Cable
·TekSavvy DSL
·ELECTRONICBOX
| said by mazhurg:said by Jaxom:Tips:
- Don't seed torrents. As soon as you get your stuff, disconnect.
- Look into switching to newsgroups. You don't upload so the lawyers don't go after you. I pay $10 a month for unlimited. Even those are now being targeted. » www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/i···own.html Thats not a newsgroup being targetted but a Indexing site simmilar to a torrent tracker. -- Every time Someone leaves Sympatico an Angel gets its wings.
|
|
 Jaxom join:2012-03-10 East York, ON | reply to TSI Marc I guess it should be mentioned also that some people also swear by private torrent sites. I guess they feel they are less likely to get caught. |
|
 brad join:2007-09-06 Etobicoke, ON | reply to TSI Marc Both USENET providers and private torrent sites are being targeted too. |
|
 Dones join:2008-02-14 Toronto, ON | reply to TSI Marc So we don't get 3 strikes like the states? We go straight to court? |
|
 | reply to TSI Marc Does anyone know when the new laws go into effect? |
|
 | It was November 1st, if I'm not mistaking. |
|
 Jinzo join:2011-06-14 Burlington, ON | I used to be on Cogeco and they would just pass on the infringement MSG. I am assuming this will be the case here.
I was curious about Number 2. How will you notify us that somebody has gotten a court order against our account? Will it be the same as Number 1
Mark I was also curious how Teksavvy use to handle infringement notifications? Where these drop in the past? |
|
 Reviews:
·Start Communicat..
·TekSavvy Cable
·Rogers Hi-Speed
| reply to TSI Marc 1) Props to TSI for sending out an email to everyone, and one in plain english so everyone understands TSI's position and knows their rights.
2) Another props to TSI for taking the stance they have (privacy over corporate interests) and yet again reminding me of why I recommend TSI over Rogers/Bell/etc every time 
3) Everyone please keep in mind bittorrent is merely a neutral technology, and a perfectly legal and useful one at that. It saves distribution and bandwidth costs and can even be used to legally download "backup" copies of media you already own. +1 for BT!
I hope TSI's stance doesn't change in the future and while the big 3 might not value my privacy, I certainly do and I'm glad TSI does as well. -- www.613websites.com ● Budget Canadian Web Design and Hosting
|
|
 TheMGPremium join:2007-09-04 Canada kudos:2 | reply to Jaxom said by Jaxom:I guess it should be mentioned also that some people also swear by private torrent sites. I guess they feel they are less likely to get caught. It doesn't make you 100% safe, but it does in fact lessen the chances.
A common way of catching downloaders is for the copyright holder to join the torrent, logging the IP of all clients that connect to them. When your torrent client connects to this seed, they log your IP, and you're caught.
Thus, public torrents are much more susceptible to this kind of tracking than a private torrent site, especially one which only allows registrations by invitation. |
|
 | reply to TSI Marc What about downloads from sites such as rapidshare? |
|
 MJB join:2012-01-29 | reply to TSI Marc use jump sticks for filesharing not the internet old fashion way |
|
 brad join:2007-09-06 Etobicoke, ON | said by MJB:use jump sticks for filesharing not the internet old fashion way The files have to be downloaded somehow. They don't magically appear on the USB key. |
|
 brad join:2007-09-06 Etobicoke, ON | reply to jubjub107 said by jubjub107:What about downloads from sites such as rapidshare? With recent changes to RapidShare it'll have a huge impact on the kind of content you would express concern over. |
|
 | reply to TSI Marc This email was sent as HTML-only. To view it, please visit: »*.infusionsoft.com/app/hostedEma···lah/bleh
If you no longer wish to receive our emails, click the link below: »*.infusionsoft.com/app/optOut/FUblah blah
thanks for the email, next time don't use a third party company that's going to spam me in the future.
Not professional at all. |
|
 | reply to TSI Marc
Thunderbird flag the email message on the TSI copyright notice that I have received. ------------------------------------------------------------------ Received: by 10.58.186.167 with SMTP id fl7csp423962vec; Mon, 3 Dec 2012 21:29:40 -0800 (PST) Received: by 10.68.194.6 with SMTP id hs6mr35652962pbc.77.1354598979706; Mon, 03 Dec 2012 21:29:39 -0800 (PST) Return-Path: Received: from mta-c-24-38.infusionmail.com (mta-c-24-38.infusionmail.com. [208.76.24.38]) by mx.google.com with ESMTP id h8si253350pay.105.2012.12.03.21.29.39; Mon, 03 Dec 2012 21:29:39 -0800 (PST) Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of mailer@infusionmail.com designates 208.76.24.38 as permitted sender) client-ip=208.76.24.38; Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of mailer@infusionmail.com designates 208.76.24.38 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=mailer@infusionmail.com; dkim=pass header.i=@infusionmail.com Return-Path: DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha1; d=infusionmail.com; s=dkim1024; c=simple/relaxed; q=dns/txt; i=@infusionmail.com; t=1354598979; h=From:Sender:Subject:Date:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; bh=JrYqp7qH0zCK9LeZSzhejV7gnu4=; b=Nph+pjM3/UdMpFCQvAeO4vPKs2UDfs9S3icRmNOog3ACfY2N0RAproyLZY0aniNV 1PkkLzKaG2POTUoLh0OesV6s0Rv7zDjWttHCYM2AHf4qTKyAr1WKBVatJfF060hO 9QqQl2CNScKNMTX/d2uIrJx2q8P7n+MFRivaGwle7Dg=; Pool-Debug: oe972 value Pool-Name: default_value x-sieve: enabled Pool-Version: 2 Received: from [10.0.0.223] ([10.0.0.223:36450] helo=hotspot) by smokescreen (envelope-from ) (ecelerity 3.4.2.33820 r(MessageSystems/Momo-dev:9fc2f41b555d)) with ESMTP id C1/B0-19499-34A8DB05; Tue, 04 Dec 2012 00:29:39 -0500 Date: Tue, 4 Dec 2012 00:29:38 -0500 (EST) From: TekSavvy Buzz Sender: mailer@infusionmail.com --------------------------------------------------------------- >Recent Developments in Canadian Copyright Law Recent changes to Canadian copyright law have been making news headlines. Many of our customers have been wondering what the changes mean and what role Internet Service Providers like TekSavvy will play in upholding the new law. : : For more information please go to: »www.teksavvy.com/en/ why-teksavvy/in-the-news/teksavvy-customer-notices/copyright-law-in-canadaBUT the actual link is »oe972.infusionsoft.com/app/ linkClick/2109/85c6efab5b93cafa/647675/554c9f60f3092a3c
If this is not a flake, please in the future DO NOT USE A LINK that have different URL than the displayed. Mozilla Thunderbird WILL flag it as a SCAM. Please note that passing your clients' info to a 3rd party mailer: infusionsoft.com is a violation to privacy. |
|