how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

alexVIA

join:2012-12-03

Help movement sensor

Hi,

I'm a student and I'm currently working on a project for a company. This project consists of create a medical matress in order to prevent bedsores.
That's the reason why I'm here, I'm looking for a movement sensor with the intention to know when the patient will move. The idea would be : if the patient doesn't move for (for example) 1 hour, trigger a program.

To give an idea, the program would be a movement of the matress, controled by 2 servo motor and 1 PLC.

If anyone would have an idea about what kind of sensor should I use, I would be grateful.

Thank you in advance.

Best regards.

Alexandre

aurgathor

join:2002-12-01
Lynnwood, WA
kudos:1
Where is the sensor located? If in the matress, I'd try some 3-axis, I2C accelerometers first.

cowboyro
Premium
join:2000-10-11
Shelton, CT
reply to alexVIA
A resistive sensor net (matrix) placed under the sheets.

alexVIA

reply to alexVIA
Thanks both for your answers.

I think I'd prefer under the sheet as cowbovro specified.
I'd have another question : How the sensor could interfere with a program ?

Best regards

cowboyro
Premium
Shelton, CT

1 recommendation

You'd need an acquisition interface that you can poll or which generates a signal when a change is detected (or both). The details highly depend on your desired approach (network? USB? serial port?). Keep in mind that for anything that may have potential galvanic contact with a human proper insulation from the mains is required. That means using special power supplies and amplifiers (consider acquisition sensors may be subjected to defibrillator shocks) and completely insulating the logic from the computer (optical or dedicated insulated amplifiers). I don't remember if the standard is 5000V or 7000V but it's somewhere in that range to get an idea.

b10010011
Whats a Posting tag?

join:2004-09-07
Bellingham, WA
Reviews:
·Comcast Formerl..