Open Source Fan
Premium
join:2002-03-04
Bethlehem, PA
kudos:8
Reviews:
·PenTeleData
·Verizon Online DSL

General questions on encoded mac address(es)

#1 I saw these two FAQs

a) »RCN Forum FAQ »How to Check your Cable Modem ID -- Encoded MAC Address.

b) »RCN Forum FAQ »Why do we ask for encoded mac addresses?

#2 Does an encoded mac address only exist on Cable Modems?

#3 Is RCN the only Cable ISP that will request that info from it's user?

#4 Is it like IPv6?

Thanks
--
Please use the "yellow (IM) envelope" to contact me and please leave the URL intact.

WireHead
I drive to fast
Premium
join:2001-05-09
Muncie, IN
#2 No, not by a long shot. I've seen automation networks with millions of devices all with encoded MACs.

#3 »RCN Forum FAQ »Why do we ask for encoded mac addresses?

Hope this helps.
--
Retired BBR Team Starfire Team Q III Host
Live by chance. Love by choice. Kill by profession.

cramer
Premium
join:2007-04-10
Raleigh, NC
kudos:9

1 recommendation

reply to aefstoggaflm
#2 No. Every NIC has a unique MAC (unless we're talking about seriously old Sun hardware, which has a hostid used to create a MAC -- which is applied to all the NICs in the device... it was a Bad Idea 30 years ago, too.)

#3 The "encoded MAC" is an RCN thing so people aren't posting the modem ID in public. Thus, yes, RCN will be the only ones asking for it. (they're the only ones who can make any sense of it anyway)

#4 Absolutely not.

aefstoggaflm
Open Source Fan
Premium
join:2002-03-04
Bethlehem, PA
kudos:8
Reviews:
·PenTeleData
·Verizon Online DSL
said by WireHead:

#2 No, not by a long shot. I've seen automation networks with millions of devices all with encoded MACs.

Ok.

How would someone not on using a Cable modem get the encoded MAC Address of their DSL modem?

My DSL modem is the Westell F90-610015-06

said by cramer:

It was a Bad Idea 30 years ago, too

If the reason for that being bad is not, is applied to all the NICs in the device then why is it bad?