how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

johnmac785

join:2003-12-11
Ashburnham, MA

[Speed] New TM822 modem, no increase in speed

I have just installed a new Aris TM822 modem supplied by Comcast.

There does not seem to be much of an increase in speed from the old modem. I am located in Westminster MA.

Old -

ping 5ms
down 15.94
up 10.65

New -

ping 5ms
down 19.03
up 10.25

Anyone know what I should be getting for speeds with the new modem.

Thanks,

John

ExoticFish

join:2008-08-31
Stuarts Draft, VA

What was the old modem ? What speed package are you on ? What are your signal levels ?
--
»www.VAJeeps.com
»www.BronzedBod.com

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
reply to johnmac785

why were you under the assumption that a new modem means faster speed?
--
I'm better than you!

johnmac785

Ashburnham, MA

Interesting, I replied to ExoticFish's questions, but it is not showing.

At any point, I did a speed test on another computer and got 45 down and 10 up. So it must be my computer that is causing the problem.

scotpig

join:2004-01-01
Martinez, CA
reply to gar187er

I'm actually having the same issue. I've tested the connection on 4 different cpu's, (2) windows 7 rigs, and (2)WinXP pro sp3 rigs. I've tried testing with and without going thru the router, straight from modem to cpu, and the results were pretty much the same. I exhanged my Arris Docsis 2.0 Modem for a new TM822 Docsis 3.0, and was told I would have a noticeable increase in speed across the board...
So was the guy just bullshitting me when he said that?
I even got a new Asus RT-N12 wifi Router too, and my connection still sucks. So frustrating

plencnerb
Premium
join:2000-09-25
Carpentersville, IL
kudos:3
reply to johnmac785

First off, new modem does not equal an increase in speed!

The answers to ExoticFish See Profile's questions would be most helpful in solving this problem.