spc
uniqs
The Antihero
join:2002-04-09
Enola, PA

The Antihero to Aranarth

to Aranarth

Re: Idiot users...

I'm a programmer at my job. While I'm not tech support, sometimes I have to troubleshoot something for a user if they were using one of our programs and it blew up on them. Most of them aren't a problem to deal with, but I had this one winner who just would not give me a straight answer. The first thing I always try to do is recreate the problem they were having. If I can't figure out how to get there, I ask them what they were doing when it happened. Again, most of the users are helpful, and if anything, give me more info than I needed. But this particular idiot just gave me a vague answer, basically giving me a general description of what the program she was using was used for, which I already knew. I emailed her back telling her that I needed a little more detail, i.e. what data she entered in which fields, what path she took to get to the program that had the problem, etc. I never heard back from her. My supervisor even told me not to worry about it if the user wasn't going to meet us halfway and actually give us some useful information.

At least I don't deal with customers, like my one friend at our company does. The worst part is, she's not allowed to ever hang up on a customer, no matter how abusive they get, or how much profanity they use. The one day, she told me she had five different people tell her to "shove those interest rates up her ass."

AVD
Respice, Adspice, Prospice
Premium Member
join:2003-02-06
Onion, NJ

AVD

Premium Member

oooooooohhhh.. .sounds dirty

hortnut
Huh?
join:2005-09-25
PDX Metro

hortnut to The Antihero

to The Antihero
said by The Antihero: