claibourne
join:2011-07-04
Garland, TX

claibourne to RolteC

to RolteC

Re: Actiontec MI424WR FIOS N Router REV. I

Click for full size
said by RolteC:

Thanks rtcy, I actually already use OpenDNS. Unfortunately, people are setting their own DNS servers.

There's a quick and spiffy way to prevent them from doing exactly that. Just set up a couple rules in the "Advanced Filtering" section of the Firewall setup. First rule allows all traffic to the OpenDNS servers; the second rule blocks all DNS requests from any internal source IP, to any external destination IP. I've been doing this for two years on F, G, and I Actiontecs and haven't seen any pitfalls, performance or otherwise.

lordphong
@verizon.net

lordphong

Anon

Hi all,
I'm on RevI as well but for some reason, I can't find UPnP, multicast, or IGMP options. My HDHomeRun Prime is connected to an ethernet port but none of my wireless devices can use WMC for it. It worked with the previous router but not this new RevI.

I heard people are also having this problem with xbox, tivo, and other devices as well.
claibourne
join:2011-07-04
Garland, TX

claibourne

In the newest Rev I firmware, options to control UPnP and IGMP Proxy have been removed from the "Advanced Settings" page.

I've also noticed that firewall logging no longer works as before. Even with logging enabled for "Remote Administration" attempts, nothing shows up in the logs. You can verify this by going to good old grc.com and running their port scanner to check your router security. Even when running that tool, nothing shows up in the Actiontec's firewall log.

lordphong
@verizon.net

lordphong

Anon

said by claibourne:

In the newest Rev I firmware, options to control UPnP and IGMP Proxy have been removed from the "Advanced Settings" page.

Those settings don't exist in Rev. I. They took out both the UPnP and IGMP settings in firmware 40.19.36.
kes601
join:2007-04-14
Virginia Beach, VA

kes601

said by lordphong :

said by claibourne: