uniqs
FirebirdTN
join:2012-12-13
Brighton, TN

1 recommendation

FirebirdTN

Newbie here; Question concerning USG and number of PCs

Hi everyone,

The short version: Would a USG50 work well in a home environment with about 20 devices?

The long version (and introduction): I've been a long time Linksys fan...well, until the last few years. Seems like Cisco is trying to kill off linksys. Anyway, I am no networking guru, but built our company network which today consist of about 125 devices (somewhere around 50 actual PCs). I actually started our network with a Win98 box using ICS, then graduated to a Linksys BEFSR41 I believe it was router. From that went to a watchguard. The watchguard started to fritz out somewhat recently, so I went shopping for a new router/firewall, and based on price and reviews picked up a USG100. WOW! Trying to keep this story short, I was so impressed, that I have found my new "go-to" brand! I also bought a 24 port rackmount gigabit switch to replace my 10/100 at home. I also just picked up a ZyXel media server to replace an aging Quantum Snap server. The next thing I want to get is a USG50 to replace my WRT54GL (and turn the GL into just an access point).

I'm a little confused by the recommended number of computers that each USG model supports. The USG100 (which I bought for work) is only recommended for 50 users (yikes!). The USG50, which is what I am eyeballing for home is only recommended for 10 users?!?!! Any issues with running more than that? At home I only have 3 PCs hooked up, but then there are my blue-ray players (I get my TV thru Netflix), Wii, Xbox360, the wife's ipad, etc.

Thanks in advance for any advice or words of wisdom.

-Alan

Brano
I hate Vogons
MVM
join:2002-06-25
Burlington, ON

Brano

MVM

Short answer: Yes.

Anav
Sarcastic Llama? Naw, Just Acerbic
Premium Member
join:2001-07-16
Dartmouth, NS

Anav to FirebirdTN

Premium Member

to FirebirdTN
and the prices right now at newegg.com and amazon.com are ridiculous.