spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

marksss

@comcast.net

Recevied a phone call about a deal from Comcast seems fishy

Today I received a phone call from a local number here in Chicago from a lady telling me she's from Comcast. She told be because I have been a year with Comcast they can double my internet speed for an extra $8 per month (from 20/4), give me free basic tv with a receiver and credit my account $70 on the second billing cycle. I currently only have internet with them and don't need the TV offer, but since it's free why not? Only $8 more plus fast internet right? Right now I'm paying $62/mo for internet. The deals seems pretty good, but is it legit? Any hidden fees I could find out about in the near future? The lady told me they could even come with the receiver today, but when I mentioned I'd have to think about it she gave some crap about this being a today only deal. What are your thoughts?

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
comcast doesnt cold call their customers. it was either a sales rep being overly(in the wrong) ambitious, or fraud. I wouldnt believe she said. Same day installs only ever were a test program, i know cause my area tried it years ago.
--
I'm better than you!

RobWJas

@comcast.net
I wouldn't say Comcast never makes cold calls. I've received them, and when my parents where with Comcast they got a cold call offering higher speeds and premium channels for a small increase. They accepted the offer and everything went fine. MAybe they only do it in certain areas.

PthirusPubis

@comcast.net
reply to marksss
said by marksss :

... she gave some crap about this being a today only deal. What are your thoughts?

Whenever I hear "today only", I run the other way.

trythisfirst

@comcast.net
reply to marksss
they try all kinds of stuff when the techs aren't busy enough.

JJV
Premium
join:2001-04-25
Seattle, WA
reply to marksss
Google the number they called from.

Andrew J