 1 edit | Recent Phishing Attempt Hello Everyone, To help ensure that your computer remains free from compromising software, please note that we will never ask you for any information through email. If you receive any emails from someone pretending to be from Cogeco (be careful, some emails can look legitimate) delete it immediately.
Please note that over the week-end certain customers received an email impersonating Cogeco, with fraudulent use of Cogecos VP Public Affairs and Communications signature. This email is a phishing attempt sent from a hacker.
From Dec 17th 2012 We ask you to disregard this email and to please not click on the link it provides. If you have already clicked on the link and submitted your personal information, please contact us rapidly at 1-855-542-2805 and ask for Internet Technical Support.
We apologize for any inconvenience this fraudulent message may have caused. Our Internet Security team is currently taking action on the issue. |
|
 | Here is another one.
From: Cogeco Technical Support Sent: Monday, January 21, 2013 6:00 AM To: undisclosed-recipients: Subject: News Update!!!
Webmail & Email - Maintenance in Progress
We are revamping your webmail platform in order to improve usability and to ensure that the platform performs to the highest standards.
In order to migrate to this new platform, we will progressively migrate our clients emails to brand new infrastructures. Please use the link database connection for migration and more information on this service. dft.ba/-3CeS This migration will happen during the nights in the upcoming weeks to minimize inconveniences, and more specifically between midnight and 6 oclock.
If we are in the process of migrating your emails, you might be temporarily not having access to your emails. Important notice
During this maintenance period, please do not change or attempt to reset your password or change any settings in your email client (e.g., Outlook Express or Windows Live Mail). We want to reassure you that your emails will not be lost and will be delivered to your inbox as soon as the migration is completed.
Thank you for your understanding. |
|
 | I think this might be another phishing email.
-----Original Message----- From: Support Sent: Wednesday, January 23, 2013 5:33 AM To: undisclosed-recipients: Subject: Great news!
-- Great news! You can now login to webmail for weekly news forum and get the latest exciting information and news/update. Please use the database link www.keysurvey.com/f/486088/f6f1/ to login for more information about this service.
Sign Technology Services Privacy Terms and Conditions Regulatory Tariffs © 2013 |
|
|
|
 Reviews:
·Cogeco Cable
| reply to Cogeco_Aaron
Just received this one: Return-path: <landastitt@cogeco.ca>
Received: from wmipb01.cogeco.net ([192.168.200.205])
by busymta01.int.cogeco.net
(Oracle Communications Messaging Server 7u4-23.01(7.0.4.23.0) 64bit (built Aug
10 2011)) with ESMTP id <0MIW009R4GZBTF51@busymta01.int.cogeco.net>; Wed,
27 Feb 2013 17:25:59 -0500 (EST)
Received: from unknown (HELO cogeco.ca) ([192.168.200.206])
by wmipb01.cogeco.net with SMTP; Wed, 27 Feb 2013 17:25:58 -0500
Date: Wed, 27 Feb 2013 17:25:58 -0500
From: support@cogeco.ca
Subject: Account Support
X-Originating-IP: 174.140.165.226
Sender: landastitt@cogeco.ca
To: (Recipient List Suppressed)
Reply-to: support@cogeco.ca
Message-id: <512e87f6.399.68de.23681@cogeco.ca>
MIME-version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Cogeco Webmail - complaints to abuse@cogeco.ca ( 174.140.165.226 -
landastitt@cogeco.ca )
Content-type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
Content-transfer-encoding: quoted-printable
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Filtered: true
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Result:
Am8KABuHLlHAqMjO/2dsb2JhbABFBgqCa4JrIgG8HQQXZxZzghtTQgQDECAEAoEBE4U4BwGCJB4MoFOGWowbjk2GBodaLYEYHQK DFwOBIYcTNo1XhhmJcWCDJiEDgQoDARsHF4Ec
X-IronPort-AV: E=Sophos;i="4.84,751,1355115600"; d="scan'208";a="8402168"
X-SBRS: None
Dear Cogeco user please be informed that we have had our Online Account Management database upgraded, you are to verify
your account details to enable us update your Cogeco account in other to avoid deactivating of your account,
http://www.keysurvey.com/f/494395/b05c/
Legal Privacy Terms and Conditions Regulatory Tariffs=a9 2013
|
|
 | You know, they might be almost believable if they ever stopped to learn some basic english grammar 
"to enable us update your Cogeco account in other to avoid deactivating of your account"
Yup, almost had me there.... |
|
 | said by diskdocx:You know, they might be almost believable if they ever stopped to learn some basic english grammar Or if they were smart enough to mask the URL they were actually sending you to? LoL, keysurvey.com? Come on man, we know this is fake. How dumb are these Phishers? |
|
 | said by RedMageX:Or if they were smart enough to mask the URL they were actually sending you to? LoL, keysurvey.com? Come on man, we know this is fake. How dumb are these Phishers? Yeah, it would be funny if nobody ever got caught with it, however, sadly, it happens.  |
|
 | I got the same message about 'Account Support' so I forwarded it to security@cogeco.net. Was that a good move? |
|
 cog_biz_useri ruin threads apparently join:2011-04-19 Hamilton, ON | reply to Dingaan
said by Dingaan:X-Mailer: Cogeco Webmail - complaints to abuse@cogeco.ca ( 174.140.165.226 -
landastitt@cogeco.ca )
Priceless. Maybe Cogeco should watch who uses its webmail. :huh:
NetRange: 174.140.160.0 - 174.140.175.255
OrgName: DirectSpace Networks, LLC.
OrgId: DIREC-104
Address: 921 SW Washington St
Address: Suite 325
City: Portland
StateProv: OR
PostalCode: 97205
Country: US
|
|
 | reply to Cogeco_Aaron When I get phishing emails, I read up on what I am supposed to do on here. »www.cogeco.ca/web/on/en/resident···8f92.php |
|
 | reply to Cogeco_Aaron I just received an email that looks like it might not be from Cogeco
"Our valued customer,
COGECO INC. technical support are Upgrading our Old Cogeco Webmail Platform to the much awaited new webmail platform. To make this transition perform to our high standards over the long term,Please Click »dft.ba/-cgocable_ca to re-validate your Account into the new webmail platform and also to re-set Mail Services. we apologies for any inconveniences due to Maintenance and appreciate your understanding.
Signed; LOUIS AUDET, ENG.,MBA - Director,President and Chief Executive Officer COGECO inc.! Customers Upgrade Services Copyright © 2013 Cogeco Inc.All rights reserved®"
I would assume that Cogeco didn't send this and I have no intention of signing into it. |
|
 | said by Hamilton1:I would assume that Cogeco didn't send this and I have no intention of signing into it. You would assume correctly 
I love the address they point to, dft.ba. Priceless! |
|
 | reply to Cogeco_Aaron My god there at it again and this is the second one today.
Dear Cogeco Account User,
You have new message from My Cogeco Technical Support Team, Login to update your account. Click: »po.st/cln3I7 We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding.
Sign, Technical Support Team ©2013 Cogeco Cable Inc
Why do these guys want into our Cogeco email so Bad? Are you guys from Cogeco Following up on this stuff? |
|
 | said by Hamilton1:Are you guys from Cogeco Following up on this stuff? We get these types of emails forwarded to security at cogeco.net all the time and each one is followed up with. It's unfortunately way easier to create email addresses and SPAM than it is to prevent them, especially if the email accounts are from outside of our own network. |
|
 | In the middle of it all, there was a genuine e-mail a few days ago from Cogeco about upcoming improvements to webmail. It didn't ask for any information, and the links were to legitimate Cogeco web pages. |
|