All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
lifespeed
join:2009-09-08

lifespeed

[Voip.ms] incoming call took 10 seconds for outgoing audio

What an awkward moment. I received a call on voip.ms, Asterisk 1.8.3, and it took 10 seconds before the caller could hear me say "hello".

This happened twice today, and appears to be a new problem on the same VoIP setup I have been using for two years.

I use losangeles.voip.ms. I'll try switching servers and report back. I have had some other minor glitches with voip.ms in the past, including a slight delay to establish audio. But this time is the worst as far as duration

I don't have many RTP audio ports open in asterisk, as I try to prioritize incoming RTP on my network (which has no QoS tags). Opening fewer ports makes it more likely the high-priority range will actually be VoIP traffic.

Long story short, I only have 100 ports open, but just increased that to 2000 and see if it makes a difference.

VexorgTR
join:2012-08-27
Sheffield Lake, OH

VexorgTR

Yowser.... VoipMS has been having a bad week based on all the posts lately. Best wishes on getting things back running.
lifespeed

lifespeed

I opened the additional RTP ports and made a test call into my system (still using losangeles.voip.ms) with two different mobile phones.

Sample size of two, it was very fast response. I don't think that is enough to declare victory, but I'll update status here.

My understanding is RTP audio isn't established until the call is answered. So if there is any delay it will be heard. Either that, or I have no idea what I am talking about.
nitzan
Premium Member
join:2008-02-27

nitzan to lifespeed

Premium Member

to lifespeed
Are you behind a NAT? do you have STUN enabled on Asterisk or your adapter/phone? if yes- disable it.
lifespeed

lifespeed

STUN has always been disabled.
advocate99
join:2011-03-08

advocate99 to lifespeed

to lifespeed
Try another server and see if it still happens.