Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

anomcost

join:2010-04-03
Incline Village, NV
reply to anomcost

Re: Help. Several symptoms

Oh, just remembered -- that was one of the symptoms. Last night noticed a folder and a couple files were gone. Yes, back up tonight! (I'm not going to run Sophos rootkit or anything before I do.) Snowbound anyway. Hot cocoa and flash drive. Fun.

Thanks again!

anomcost

Incline Village, NV
Hi. Just an update. I think I may have found the problem with the mouse and keyboard freezing up. It kept getting worse till the point where I could barely have the computer on for more than a few minutes before freezing and having to cold boot into safe mode, etc. Usually I have IE open -- I'm a web designer, have to check IE 1st, then check cross compatibility. A few times lately I only had other browsers open -- Chrome, FF, and/or Opera. I noticed the problem did not happen. I figure something must have gotten corrupted with IE 8 (I usually stay an iteration behind, again for checking). Updated to IE 9. So far no problem. I'm hopeful... and keeping my fingers crossed.

Thanks again for all your help!

anomcost

Incline Village, NV
Thought I'd update you. It wasn't the browser... that was wishful thinking. Kept getting worse and worse. I did everything possible, including "Return to Factory Settings" 4 times. Kept getting told different things by HP, followed their instructions to a T, ran all their diagnostics, blah, blah, blah.