Premium
join:2008-08-09
Hutt River
kudos:13
Reviews:
·callwithus
·voip.ms

Bitdefender Free

I have been using Microsoft Security Essentials with no problems, but I keep reading of their mediocre detection scores.

So I decided to try the free version of Bitdefender because of their very good scores on various sites.

I've used several different free AV in the past so I have some comparative experience....

I ended up removing Bitdefender Free because:

1) It made downloading very choppy. Here is an example: If I use [Speedtest.net] to check my download speed, I usually get a final result around 17 Mbps. During the download, the needle will stay in that general area, say 15 to 20 Mbps. But after I switched to Bitdefender, the speed during the download test [fluctuated violently] from 0 to 75, then back to 0, then up to 60, etc, before ending up at the final speed of 17 Mbps. This occurred on 3 different browsers. Now with MSSE it's normal again.

2) That same choppiness could be experienced when my wife was doing online games using Chrome browser. After I switched back from Bitdefender to MSSE, it was fixed.

3) Bitdefender insisted on removing the free version of Malwarebytes, even though _that_ program does not run resident (does not run realtime).

4) The program seemed to be telling me that I would need to get a free license key by 30 days, but I just could not figure out how to get such a key.

5) I don't expect lots of features on a free program, but compared to others such as Avast or even AVG, this had pretty much no user options.

6) To control the program at all, you have to go online and log in. You can create your own account, OR they encourage you to log on by using your Facebook or Google account. Maybe I am old fashioned, but to control your AV settings by logging in with Facebook seems weird....

----------------

Well, I have gone back to MSSE.