All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
bgrimm
join:2012-12-26
Chanhassen, MN

bgrimm

[MN] Motorola SB6121 Offical Support yet?

Hello, I have Mediacomm in Chanhassen, MN.
As the subject states I'm wondering if the SB6121 is supported for firmware updates yet.

We've been having some spotty outages lately and a tech showed up today and swapped out my 7 year old surfboard for an RCA DHG534.
The first unit he pulled out of his truck was DOA, so he fetched another and it's working, but he said this model is unreliable and are a crapshoot on quality.

So I'm preferring now to buy my own, something quality I can count on.

Any info would be appreciated, thanks.

TJFriday
join:2009-06-29
Des Moines, IA

TJFriday

I would recommend the Cisco DPC-3010. I've been using one for a year and it's been solid. Previously, I had been using a Motorola SB6120 for 2+ years (got one as soon as they were available). The Cisco diagnostic pages aren't as good as the Motorola in terms of the amount of information, but the critical, useful information is there. None of the other information that the Motorola modems provide has proven useful in troubleshooting.

The Cisco DPC-3010 is supported by Mediacom and currently uses the same firmware as the DPC-3000 and DPC-3008 (amongst others). In working with the Mediacom personnel, they very much seem to prefer the Cisco equipment as it sounds like they have an excellent relationship with Cisco from a support perspective.

MediacomChad
Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
Premium Member
join:2010-01-20
Gulf Breeze, FL

MediacomChad to bgrimm

Premium Member

to bgrimm
Unfortunately the 6121 is not supported as of yet, and there is no ETA as to when we will have firmware available for it at this time.

mattmag

join:2000-04-09
NW Illinois

mattmag to bgrimm

to bgrimm

I have the SB 6121 and it worked flawlessly out of the box. Should be no need to worry about the firmware at this point.
pjschwartz
join:2005-03-25
Sun City, AZ