Search similar:

uniqs
Benenstein
join:2007-04-29
Bloomington, IL

2 edits

Benenstein

Building a computer...in need of help!

Well, im an amateur. I have a few people helping me out that have built their own computers, but i want to branch out as much as possible. I have a budget of around $1,400 (Maximum!). I want to build a gaming computer that can handle almost anything that i throw at it.

My ideas so far:

At least 1 TB on a HHD + 60 GB on SSD (The SSD to put my OS on)
16 GB of RAM (unsure of DDR3 vs DDR5 means and if it makes a difference)
A high end graphics card or 2 cheaper graphic cards
I have no clue what kind of motherboard to get, but i was told to get a motherboard plus a few processors.
Im going to be hooking my computer up to my flatscreen, so i wouldnt mind an HDMI out.
Also, a wireless card would be nice. My room is far away from the router, but close enough to the wireless router to get a good signal.

So far, ive only found the case and Windows 7. Any other help would certainly be appreciated!

Case:

»www.newegg.com/Product/P ··· 11129097

Ghastlyone
Premium Member
join:2009-01-07
Nashville, TN

Ghastlyone

Premium Member

$1700.00 budget? Shit, you can build a rockin' gaming PC for that.

I built a PC a few months back with an Ivy Bridge i5 3570K, Gigabyte Z77 Motherboard, 16gb Corsair Vengence Blue RAM, Western Digital Black Caviar 1TB HDD, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb SSD Boot Drive, and a Rosewill Backhawk Mid Tower.

Everything ran roughly 900 dollars. I reused my GPU and PSU.

I'd go with roughly the same setup, but opt for a 256gb SSD instead. You'll want the larger space trust me. 60gb is the bare minimum for an OS.

Just get a good name brand 80 plus Silver/Gold rated PSU. I tend to like Corsair, but there are others that are quality also.

And then look at getting either a single GTX680 or 7970 GHZ edition.

You'll have a beast of a PC for games.

ironweasel
Weezy
Premium Member
join:2000-09-13
Belen, NM

1 edit

ironweasel to Benenstein