share rss forum feed

signmeuptoo
Bless you Howie
Premium
join:2001-11-22
NanoParticle
kudos:5

Music: Is there such a thing as this?

Ok, you're gonna bust my chops, but I am preparing a MP3 player for my GF overseas. She has a taste in music most of you will probably laugh about.

She likes stuff like ABBA, Air Supply, and The Carpenters.

I would like to find a site or engine that will give me a list of similar artists, like how Pandora works, but an actual list. Music Genome basically.

I like stuff such as Calexico and Radio Head, I am a former musician so my taste is pretty eclectic. But my taste is quite different from her's.

Also, she's a Filipina, if any of you out there are also and know of artists from that island nation, please tell me about them.
--
Join Teams Helix and Discovery. Rest in Peace, Leonard David Smith, my best friend, you are missed badly! Rest in peace, Pop, glad our last years were good. Please pray for Colin, he has ependymoma, a brain cancer, donate to a children's Hospital.

NotTheMama
What Would Earl Do?

join:2012-12-06

2 recommendations

Karen Carpenter had a great voice.

n1zuk
making really tiny tech things
Premium
join:2001-10-24
Malta
kudos:2
reply to signmeuptoo
Quick search came up with this = »www.spotiseek.com/?ref=logo

signmeuptoo
Bless you Howie
Premium
NanoParticle
Hmm, that WILL help, thanks!

disconnected

@snet.net
reply to signmeuptoo
Most Filipinas like Lea Salonga. That's been my experience.
Expand your moderator at work

signmeuptoo
Bless you Howie
Premium
NanoParticle

1 edit

Re: Music: Is there such a thing as this?

He'd have to fight with me before he could get to her! But seriously, I would say that is accurate, the 80's, she was born during the Summer of Love. So right about the mid 80's she was a teen, and we all know the music we bond strongest with is the music of our teen years.

And, like all good Pinoys, she loves karaoke, and sometimes even sings to me (I love that).