spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

misiek

join:2000-12-25
Round Lake, IL

External air supply for an 80% AFUE furnace?

Is it possible to bring an external air supply for combustion to an 80% furnace?

Our current unit is past its 15 year old mark and will need to be replaced with a new one. Hopefully, the old one will last through this winter.
The 90% + ones are gonna be a nightmare to install, according to a couple of HVAC contractors I spoke with. For ease of installation (read: $$$), both guys recommended 80% furnaces.
I am a complete layman when it comes to this stuff, so go easy on me guys.

Thanks in advance.

rockotman
...Blown On The Steel Breeze
Emerging Research
join:2000-08-06
DSotM
kudos:2

1 edit
Why do you think that a furnace that is 15 years old will need to be replaced? With proper maintenance, that furnace should last at least another 15 years.

In our last house, the original furnace (from 1971) was a contractor grade Janitrol (or the equivalent) that lasted until January 1998, when the heat exchanger developed a crack. We replaced the furnace with a Carrier, and that furnace is still going great after nearly 15 years (my son and his wife now own the house). Other than routine cleaning, the only thing that has failed on it over the years was an add-on low-voltage transformer for the humidifier and about every other year the flame sensor probe needs to be pulled, cleaned with steel wool, and reinstalled.

Secondly, why would you need an external air source for an 80% efficiency unit?
--
Shine on you crazy diamond...

cdru
Go Colts
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-14
Fort Wayne, IN
kudos:7
said by rockotman:

To improve it's efficiency. Using conditioned air for combustion isn't as efficient as using outside, unconditioned air that's just going to go up the flue/exhaust pipe.