Moffetts
join:2005-05-09
San Mateo, CA

Moffetts to takeahike

to takeahike

Re: Fuck Dell

said by takeahike:

said by H_T_R_N:

I make my living off of people not being able to get to the hard drive.
Price your repair acordlingly and infor the client that you might have to destroy the keyboard to get to the drive and that if you do there will be an additional charge. Simple!

Haven't you heard the line: For that, I'll just buy a new computer!

If that's the case, it sounds like you're overcharging.

takeahike
You sure ask a lot of dumb questions
Premium Member
join:2005-01-07
Catacombs

1 edit

takeahike

Premium Member

said by Moffetts:

said by takeahike:

said by H_T_R_N:

Haven't you heard the line: For that, I'll just buy a new computer!

If that's the case, it sounds like you're overcharging.

Haven't you heard: laptops start at $200-$300 dollars. I charge $130 to recover anything less than an extreme amount of data, format the drive and re-load the OS, with of course all drivers, updates and plug-ins, like adobe flash, java, winrar, a burning program, an anti-virus and usually iTunes. Sounds reasonable to me. If I added more on top of that the client would be thinking new system (on which I'd make virtually nothing if I tried to compete with the likes of Dell, etc.) The way I'm often able to convince them that the repair makes more sense is by educating them to the fact that the new system will not come with all their docs, pics and other data and that they'd have to pay up-wards of $100 to get that data transferred, which I of course "include" in the repair service. To be honest, if you're fixing systems and you haven't heard that famous line I'd like to move to your neighborhood.