TP-Link Archer C7
Linksys WRT54GS
Linksys WRT54G v4

Bill_MI

MVM

Modem Data for 2012

Click for full size
Modem Data for 2012
During the year we added phone which changed modems, had a power outage for several days and saw downstream channels being added.

EXCESSIVE CHANNEL CHANGING continues - more than a dozen times per day. On DOCSIS 2 this means internet goes away for several seconds each time.

Otherwise, stability is very good, based on the data. This is my first complete year of WOW which we started Jun 2011. Only a minor seasonal affect is noticeable.

BTW, Happy New Year!

C1K
@comcast.net

C1K

Anon

I have a TM502G on Comcast and would love to be able to collect data like that. How do you do it?

Bill_MI
Bill In Michigan
MVM
join:2001-01-03
Royal Oak, MI
TP-Link Archer C7
Linksys WRT54GS
Linksys WRT54G v4

Bill_MI

MVM

A bash script (Linux) grabs and formats all the data into a daily CSV file via cron job every 5 minutes. I'm no expert, just hack at it. An expert would roll their eyes. I've set up Excel (Windows) to import and plot it.

C1K
@gm.com

C1K

Anon

Let me know where to get the script and I will see if I can get Linux going in a VM or something. My power levels fluctuate a lot and I would like to understand how frequently and how much.

I would really appreciate it!

Bill_MI
Bill In Michigan
MVM
Royal Oak, MI
TP-Link Archer C7
Linksys WRT54GS
Linksys WRT54G v4

2 edits

Bill_MI

MVM

Attached right here. I'll bring up my Windows VM to edit up the compatible Excel file if you like (Excel 2000 so should work in any version?).

Warning. The script has some legacy going back to DSL service. Much junk remains in the data, only to be compatible with old modems and data. If that makes sense. There's also commented-out lines to grab the log and I've "XXX" out some device identifying numbers I shamefully hard coded.

But I might be able to help with questions fairly well. I did this only last June. Good luck!