All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
watts3000
join:2002-01-21

watts3000

replacing home security company

Guys I'm looking to replace my current home security company with a cheaper setup. As of right now I use Vivint we have Zwave based system. So I would like to know are there any good monitoring companies out there that will let you wire up your equipment and you just pay theme a monthly fee?
askinder
join:2010-07-08
Kansas City, MO

askinder

If you we're unfortunate enough to be swindled by Vivint, you likely have a 5 year contract. If you are wanting to install your own system and have just monitoring, look at companies like Alarm Relay, Next Alarm and geoarm that cater to the DIY market. I am a 10 year veteran in the security and automation field I have had positions ranging from monitoring rep to installation manager, currently working in the commercial space as an integrator. Feel free to ask me any questions you have.
watts3000

watts3000

My contract is 3 I made sure of that up front because I had heard stories of these alarm companies pulling users into 5 year deals. By the way what I really want to do is keep my current go control panel and switch it over to another company however I'm sure Vivint has locked the system so that only they can use it. So my first question is can these systems be unlocked so you can move them to different providers and who all does two way voice Vivint claims they are the only company that can do two way voice?

This is what we have installed

»www.amazon.com/2GIG-CNTR ··· ol+panel

chip89
Premium Member
join:2012-07-05
Columbia Station, OH

chip89

Premium Member

If you want to keep your system you can only choose ADT because your system uses Zwave.
watts3000

watts3000

I looked at the companies askinder posted and they support 2gig gear. So I must ask what does zwave have to do with anything? BTW askinder I checked our unit out looks like it uses a 2GIG-GSM1 cell module.

chip89
Premium Member