spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

JSmith67744

join:2013-01-04

Really strange problem with service lately.

Hello, I've been using Millienicom for a few years now and have had ups and downs with them, from a slew of bad Franklin modems to tower failures. All and all I've been fairly happy with them, even having been through the tech support mambo multiple times.

However the last few weeks I've run into a new problem altogether and the people over at MCom support don't seem to have any idea on what could be wrong or how to help -- we've sent up support tickets, reset everything we could think to reset and yet the problem keeps persisting.

The problem: Anything I load on port 80 (standard HTTP) is slow, like 20kb/s slow, compared to my average of 100-120kb/s on downloads. At first I hadn't narrowed the problem down to port 80 and just thought all HTTP downloads were doing it. However things like Torrents and Steam game downloads didn't seem to be affected at all.

The other day I was directed to »www.thinkbroadband.com/download/ which gives you the ability to test your speed on larger downloads using multiple ports and both IPv4 and IPv6, in testing these files I found that downloading them from port 81 or port 8080 was resulting in speeds I was used to seeing, and port 80 was giving me the low speeds I had been getting.

After further testing to make sure it wasn't just the server under load (I figured it wasn't since the download speeds on port 80 are nearly identical from every website I visit) using other servers on various ports I concluded it was localized to port 80 and port 80 alone.

I've tried different computers, both on and off my Cradlepoint, and even on Linux but the results are always the same.