share rss forum feed

neufuse

join:2006-12-06
James Creek, PA
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to rody_44

Re: [Rant] Tech didn't want to do work because of homerun instal

What? did you even read what I wrote? the house was constructed with two sets of keystone jacks in every room, each one has a Cat5e, a telephone and a Coax... never said anything about them all being active... heck I said I had a 8 port splitter going to the active ones!

the guy who showed up was a contractor Triwire or somethign liek that with with a sign on the truck that says "authorized comcast serivce provider"

Anonymous
Premium
join:2004-06-01
IA
kudos:1

Well as a cable tech I check the work order and see the number of outlets and if they match the actual number of outlets activated it's all good. If you have more than that and you want me to check them I will but you will be charged for each additional outlet (not shown on the work order). Of course there is a reasonable limit due to the time assigned to your job. If you have less outlets activated than what's shown on the work order I will activate additional outlets (if you need them) for free. Either way it's best to only have outlets you use activated and by checking your outlet I mean ingress check and updating any fittings if needed.

I don't really care how big your house is or how many outlets you think you need or how you feel about this. Cable cos will charge a one time per-outlet activation fees and if you decide to do it yourself that's OK with me but don't expect any support for that. It seems like you have a really nice setup and as long as there is no ingress backfeeding from your internal wiring and your signal level is strong enough (with the amp) to have 24 outlets should not be a problem.