Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Tomek
Premium
join:2002-01-30
Valley Stream, NY

[RANT] Is it me or Optimum has a horrible Customer Service

Door-to-door salesman convinced me to get OOL, but my ride was so far quite bumpy. I will have more comprehensive review once all is complete.

When I signed up for Optimum triple package, I had it next to FIOS, so by swapping two cables, I can have either service.
Even had separated phone lines.

First problem occurred when days after install my internet and TV was going in and out. Problem was to powercycle equipment. Eventually called tech support and met the most idiotic staff ever. It is clear that software found on Optimum STB has pathetic quality control (I am software engineer by trade). Tech tried to convince me that rebooting STB is as normal as occasional rebooting of the cellphone. There is more rant to that but I leave it like that.
I had service man come over, changed some cables and so far so good. Then I had more problems with STB, called and told it is known issue.

But cherry of the cake is number porting. Was told it is 40 bucks and takes weeks to process. FINE. Was told it is January 4th. On third I am told that tech needs to come over. Really? Everything is connected as needed, nothing to swap. So I told them to just do what needs to be done and no need for visit. But of course, on 4th I get a call that guy will come over. I am at work....
I got with customer service to figure out why there is a need for technician? There is no physical change needed? They have no right to mess with Verizon box and phones are NOT connected.
So of course, the procedure wasn't done. WHY?
After wasting my time on chat, rep said that tech will arrive by 18th. And said that I can cancel Verizon meanwhile my verizon phone will work. Not really see why verizon will provide service if i will stop paying for it.