join:2001-08-09
Milwaukee, WI
kudos:2
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·AT&T Midwest
·Time Warner Cable

Re-roofing with existing skylights

I'm looking for your experiences, dos and don'ts, if you already had skylights or roof windows and then had your house re-roofed. I'm putting together some specs so I can communicate to contractors what I need done, but I have no experience in roofing whatsoever.

Can decent quality skylights simply be reset and re-flashed? I have three Velux VS106 windows and one FS106 fixed skylight that I installed in 1999. Never had any leaks or problems with the Velux step flashing and I am guessing that they would still have flashing kits available for these units.

The house has three layers of roofing, (i.e. 1920s, 1950s, 1982) so due to that thickness, I had to mount the Veluxes on the first layer of cedar shingles, rather than the top two layers of asphalt. I assume that after the tear-off, they'll need to be re-set and likely some interior work on the sheetrock will be needed.

The roof is pitched 9/12 with one dormer, one eyebrow, one chimney, and no venting. The rafters are 24" OC and the roof boards are 1x6 spaced 1/2" to 1".

I am sure my house is looking forward to losing a few thousand pounds. Thanks for any advice and suggestions.
--
USNG:
16TDN2870
Find your USNG coordinates:
USNGWeb

tschmidt
Premium,MVM
join:2000-11-12
Milford, NH
kudos:9
Reviews:
·G4 Communications
·Fairpoint Commun..
·Hollis Hosting
We have a Velux opening skylight that was installed when we reroofed a few years ago so have no direct experience reusing an old one.