uniqs
jkoblovsky
join:2011-09-27
Keswick, ON

1 edit

jkoblovsky

Validation of Legal Privacy Concerns TSI Vs. Voltage

[Links included in original blog post]

Howard Knopf has an excellent post validating a lot of the privacy concerns I have raised with respect to Teksavvy Vs Voltage. While I’m not a lawyer, it seems that one of the top copyright lawyers in the country tends to agree with a lot of the concerns I’ve raised around privacy and the legal role of the ISPs around copyright law. The first is with respect to ISP’s taking a “neutrality” status. I stated:
Me: “Teksavvy went as far as to say they can’t get involved in defending due process because the new copyright laws say they have to remain neutral. In fact nowhere in the new copyright legislation does it mention ISPs, service providers, neutral or safe harbor. It was however supported in the copyright consultations that, ISPs should be exempt from copyright infringement liability simply because they act as intermediaries. Basically under notice to notice, this would mean all they had to do was to pass the information from a plaintiff off to their consumers to be exempt from copyright damages.”
Knopf backs up this claim stating:
Knopf: “There is no reason to believe that the taking of active, reasonable and responsible steps by an ISP to safeguard and preserve its customers’ privacy would in any way jeopardise the ISPs cherished “neutrality” status. There is nothing in existing Canadian law or the still un-proclaimed provisions of Bill C-11 that would point to the contrary. What is apparent, however, is that ISPs are subject to PIPEDA privacy law and cannot divulge customer’s private information in a mass copyright litigation case without the customers’ consent or a court order. In the BMG decision in 2005, the Federal Court of Appeal (“FCA”) made it clear that: