All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

rwong48
join:2002-11-10
San Jose, CA

rwong48

Which nVidia cards support 3 independent displays?

I'm a bit behind with tech.. last I checked, nVidia cards were always (and still) limited to 2 displays.

They had something called MDT (nVidia surround?) which was a workaround - as far as I know, that just presented two physical monitors as one to the OS.. which is *not* what I'm looking for. I need to be able to connect 3 independent displays and see 3 displays in the OS, like I do at work with my ATI 6450M-or-something. I was about to switch to ATI for this, despite disliking ATI's software.

Now I'm seeing some people have some success with 3 displays, using cards from the GTX660 to GTX680. But before I blow $300 on one, I want to know.. exactly which ones?

I don't need crazy performance - the newest game that I play is 5+-year-old Team Fortress 2, and only the primary monitor will be used while gaming.
Also, I'm okay if display number >2 has to come out of the card as DisplayPort or such; I'm used to that limitation, so I have some active adapters.
BlitzenZeus
Burnt Out Cynic
Premium Member
join:2000-01-13

BlitzenZeus

Premium Member

A cheaper option would be to use the onboard video if you have one since you would only use one monitor while gaming.

rwong48
San Jose, CA

rwong48

I've considered using the onboard or even a PCI/PCIE GeForce 8400GS for the 3rd/4th displays, but I'm not sure how they would affect performance of the primary adapter. Maybe I should try it for myself.

As a clarification, during gaming, the other displays will still be on, and have mostly idle material - as opposed to being disabled and re-enabled. The game itself spans only the primary display.

DKS
Damn Kidney Stones

join:2001-03-22
Owen Sound, ON

DKS to rwong48

to rwong48
said by rwong48: