uniqs
share rss forum feed

Rob_
Premium
join:2008-07-16
Mary Esther, FL
kudos:1

Screens

For some reason, I have three screens that need to go away, how do you do it?

12313.pts-68.Dr (Attached)
12261.pts-68.D (Attached)
26847.pts-16.D (Attached)

I'm fairly new to this and use it mainly for IRC

-Rob

ds5v50

join:2003-01-22
Fremont, OH
Not sure if you are talking about the command screen or something else but...

if it is screen then here ya go. from the command line

screen -R
exit

Edit: Or 'killall screen' from the command line will work also.

--
Fremont, Ohio Weather
»www.Fremont-OH-weather.com

Rob_
Premium
Mary Esther, FL
That worked, thanks! How do I prevent getting more then one screen? only need one.

-Rob

rexbinary
Mod King
Premium
join:2005-01-26
Plano, TX
reply to Rob_
Don't run screen more then once? I'm not sure how you are getting more screens then you want. Can you tell us what your typing when using screen?

ds5v50

join:2003-01-22
Fremont, OH
reply to Rob_
How you invoke screen is a great start, But to go to an already active screen you could do..

screen -R -D 

that will re-attach if there is already an open screen session. Also keep in mind if your running screen and just kill the window or the connection, screen will continue running. At the end of your screen session typing exit until the you get the " [screen is terminating]
" notice, will help keep screen from living past its needed time.

I would highly recommend reading the screen man page.

--
Fremont, Ohio Weather
»www.Fremont-OH-weather.com

timcuth
Braves Fan
Premium
join:2000-09-18
Pelham, AL
reply to Rob_
Sorry, posted on wrong topic.

dennismurphy
Put me on hold? I'll put YOU on hold
Premium
join:2002-11-19
Parsippany, NJ
kudos:3
Reviews:
·Verizon FiOS

1 recommendation

reply to Rob_
said by Rob_:

That worked, thanks! How do I prevent getting more then one screen? only need one.

-Rob

If you only need one, then why are you using screen at all?

Selenia
Gentoo Convert