spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

helpmeeh

join:2013-01-14

PPTP VPN Actiontec MI424WR Port Forwarding Help Me

I have a domain in Los Angeles office trying to join the San Fransisco office to the Los Angeles domain by using a VPN.

On the Server 2008 R2 I added the role remote access and routing and added the user and set everything up.

Now I just need to learn how to port forward properly because locally I can connect to the VPN (Los Angeles office) but I cannot connect to the VPN in the San Fransisco office. I need to learn how to port forward. I'm new to this port forwarding, what is GRE what is all this stuff on the Actiontec MI424WR router. Can anyone teach me step by step? Thanks so much.

More Fiber
Premium,MVM
join:2005-09-26
West Chester, PA
kudos:31
»Verizon Online FiOS FAQ »Port Forwarding Instructions for the FiOS MI424 Router

GRE = Generic Routing Encapsulation
--
There are 10 kinds of people in the world; those who understand binary and those who don't.

McBane

join:2008-08-22
Plano, TX
reply to helpmeeh
While I doubt we can explain every feature on this router in an online forum, for PPTP clients it should just work with default settings, unless you are trying to setup a PPTP server at your local location behind NAT.

Which location are you at, San Francisco or Los Angeles?

Why use PPTP when
1) it's already compromised and no longer secure and
2) L2TP/IPSec on the routers/firewalls would be a much better and clean option for joining your LANs/domains than piping everything through your domain controllers with GRE

GRE is not encrypted so I doubt you'd want to use that.

helpmeeh

Hi guys thanks for the reply. I'm at the Los Angeles office. Let me tell you what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to join the domains to use e-mail and file sharing. What do you recommend sir.

McBane

Plano, TX