share rss forum feed

zod5000

join:2003-10-21
Victoria, BC
Reviews:
·Shaw

3 edits
reply to TOPDAWG

Re: Student loans why don't some people pay them back?

I paid off my loans pretty quick. I owed $27k when I graduated in 2004. I couldn't find work where I lived and toughed it out for 1.5 years. I was paying the bills with a near min. wage job. This was low enough to quality for interest relief (IE they suspend your payments and your interest).

By July 2006 I have gave up and moved. I started out around $40k/year. Interest relief ran out in December '06. I dumped a final lump sum on the Student Loan in August of 2009 (my salary had probably increased from the original $40k to $60kish by then). I kept dumping money on it, and bonuses..... I hammered it down.

That period of time before I moved completely freaked me out. It was a lot of money to me and I had no idea how to pay it back. It's easier once you have a job, and its pretty sweet when you get the completed payment letters (I left them on the fridge for a few years).

As for free University. I disagree with it. It seems to me that more and more people are going to University. It's becoming the new grade 12. No one really gives a crap if you did grade 12. If everyone has University degree how does one separate themselves from everyone else? Then all of a sudden everyone needs to do a masters so they have a leg up. Not to mention a lot of people graduate with degrees that aren't too useful.

If particular sectors in Canada need people I can understand subsidizing certain programs to attract students and create workers. I'm pretty much against free post secondary though. Europe is a really bad example. How much debt did those countries rack up with all their extra social programs?

Bob Anderson

join:2001-05-05
Ottawa, ON
kudos:1
reply to TOPDAWG