 nwrickertsand groperPremium,MVM join:2004-09-04 Geneva, IL kudos:7 Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse
| reply to clikonco
Re: Verify Official Verizon Email said by clikonco:I am unsure if this e-mail is truly from the Verizon team as numerous flags popped up after re-reading the email. Additionally I was wondering if SouthwestCR was legitimate? Please, always use a code block for email headers. You can do that with: [code] the header text goes here [/code]
That link local IP address "169.254.1.30" in the headers is a bit strange, though not necessarily a problem. They ask for:
Verizon billing telephone number or account number,
A daytime number to reach you and the best time to call
If it were me, I would provide the phone number for your service, but not the account number. Your phone number isn't very private information anyway.
And also a number to reach you at isn't very private.
If they follow through and call you, then you would soon know whether it is for real, based on what they say.
My best judgment, based on what I see, is that this is probably legit. -- AT&T Uverse; Zyxel NBG334W router (behind the 2wire gateway); openSuSE 12.2; firefox 18.0 |
|
 NormanSPremium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA kudos:9 | said by nwrickert:That link local IP address "169.254.1.30" in the headers is a bit strange ... This line:
Received: from FHDP1LUMXC7V31.us.one.verizon.com ([169.254.1.30]) by
FHDP1LUMXC7HB04.us.one.verizon.com ([166.68.59.191]) with mapi; Wed, 16 Jan
2013 14:00:52 -0500
Is not at all strange. It is typical of a Microsoft mail client, such as Outlook, connecting to a message submission server from an ad hoc internal network. It is reasonable and acceptable.
-- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|
 | reply to nwrickert I apologize for not using code block. Thank you for your replies! |
|
 AVDRespice, Adspice, ProspicePremium join:2003-02-06 Onion, NJ kudos:1 | reply to NormanS
said by NormanS:said by nwrickert:That link local IP address "169.254.1.30" in the headers is a bit strange ... This line: Received: from FHDP1LUMXC7V31.us.one.verizon.com ([169.254.1.30]) by
FHDP1LUMXC7HB04.us.one.verizon.com ([166.68.59.191]) with mapi; Wed, 16 Jan
2013 14:00:52 -0500
Is not at all strange. It is typical of a Microsoft mail client, such as Outlook, connecting to a message submission server from an ad hoc internal network. It is reasonable and acceptable. sarcasm will get you everywhere.
What corporate environment uses an "ad hock internal network"?
-- * seek help if having trouble coping --Standard disclaimers apply.-- |
|