|reply to wirelessdog |
Re: WISP Startup
said by wirelessdog:Agreed. Done pretty well to knock 45% off the price just by asking!
$275 a month is perfectly reasonable.
Most likely some of that has to cover insurance for the tower, since anything that goes wrong with your gear could cause damage (e.g. fire)
As a start up he may be interested to see you get going and offer some competition.
Youve got to think about this in numbers.
$275/month / 10 customers = $27.50 breakeven. Most likely you could charge somewhere around $30/month and still be a viable option for a lot of customers. On rental alone, every customer after that is profit.
10 customers is not bad for breakeven, especially if you have access to a lot more from there, or can link to more valuable places. But naturally you have to include your other costs like bandwidth so that figure is likely to rise, but again, not uncommon.