dslreports logo
site
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
1211
share rss forum feed

amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo

[Voip.ms] IVR on new Montreal2 server

Anyone use IVR and are using Montreal2. Since the new server has been put online, my IVR does not work correctly. An incoming call complains they choose an option and they do not hear any further phone ring. My phone rings but the caller hears dead air after selection. I put a ticket to voip.ms and got a "please reboot your ata response". It works fine with Chicago. Only issue with new server.


taytong888

join:2005-06-20
Nepean, ON

amd64now,

I forgot which thread in this forum, but essentially whenever you change server you have to re-install IVR from scratch.This is how voip.ms works up until now.


Mango
What router are you using?
Premium
join:2008-12-25
www.toao.net
kudos:12
Reviews:
·Callcentric
·Anveo
·Shaw

1 edit
reply to amd64now

said by amd64now:

I put a ticket to voip.ms and got a "please reboot your ata response".

If that's really what they responded, that's a little sad.

I can confirm the symptoms exactly as you described.

said by taytong888:

I forgot which thread in this forum, but essentially whenever you change server you have to re-install IVR from scratch.This is how voip.ms works up until now.

You're thinking of voicemail. IVR and recordings don't require any effort when you switch PoPs.

amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo
reply to taytong888

said by taytong888:

amd64now,

I forgot which thread in this forum, but essentially whenever you change server you have to re-install IVR from scratch.This is how voip.ms works up until now.

Hi,
I have never had to re-install IVR from scratch when switching servers so not sure of the setup you have an IVR. My IVR has worked when switching servers on my ATA and reassigning on voip.ms website.

Can you explain your IVR setup so I can compare to mine in which you have to re-install?

amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo
reply to Mango

said by Mango:

said by amd64now:

I put a ticket to voip.ms and got a "please reboot your ata response".

If that's really what they responded, that's a little sad.

I can confirm the symptoms exactly as you described.

said by taytong888:

I forgot which thread in this forum, but essentially whenever you change server you have to re-install IVR from scratch.This is how voip.ms works up until now.

You're thinking of voicemail. IVR and recordings don't require any effort when you switch PoPs.

Thanks Mango for testing to confirm. I have never got a response like that since leaving Bell Canada...

taytong888

join:2005-06-20
Nepean, ON
reply to Mango

Hello,

1. Perhaps voip.ms staff meant "please submit the ATA log", but in the translation from French to English the intent was lost?

2. I am sorry if I was mistaken about voicemail vs. IVR.


amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo

said by taytong888:

Hello,

1. Perhaps voip.ms staff meant "please submit the ATA log", but in the translation from French to English the intent was lost?

2. I am sorry if I was mistaken about voicemail vs. IVR.

No worries... No, no translation issue.. Maybe a voip.ms staff member that uses montreal2 will try it out and see..... I got a generic response. But thank-you for recommending...

MartinM
VoIP.ms
Premium,VIP
join:2008-07-21
kudos:3
reply to taytong888

Most of our guys don't speak french.

Look guys, try to keep it at least useful, throwing random stuff out of the blue is not helping anyone.

To OP, our Montreal servers were upgraded to new hardware, and to new software. They were the first to get that software upgrade. We have screened everything we could to avoid any problems, perhaps we missed something? Our support was quite busy today, do you have the ticket number so I can review the reply you got? Thanks
--
Martin - VoiP.ms


MartinM
VoIP.ms
Premium,VIP
join:2008-07-21
kudos:3

2 edits
reply to amd64now

I noticed you haven't updated your thread since the update, about not having any more registration issues.

By the way, this forum is not an unofficial VoIP.ms complain forum. Might want to keep a note about that. I also replied to your Private Messages, no replies. I'm really not sure what the hell I'm doing here.

--
Martin - VoiP.ms


Mango
What router are you using?
Premium
join:2008-12-25
www.toao.net
kudos:12

On the other hand, if he'd received a meaningful response from support, he probably wouldn't have posted this thread.


MartinM
VoIP.ms
Premium,VIP
join:2008-07-21
kudos:3

said by Mango:

On the other hand, if he'd received a meaningful response from support, he probably wouldn't have posted this thread.

And you base the response he received from support based on... What exactly mango? Did you read it? Are you aware of the ticket personally?

I'm outta here this place is a mess.
--
Martin - VoiP.ms

lilarry
Premium
join:2010-04-06
reply to amd64now

Just tried an existing IVR on montreal2. Working fine. Calls complete - both inbound to IVR and outbound to selected registered devices.


MartinM
VoIP.ms
Premium,VIP
join:2008-07-21
kudos:3
reply to amd64now

I'm not aware of the ticket personally, but did it not occur to anyone, that the OP mentions when they press an option, it's not dialing. That perhaps the tech was asking to restart the ATA, even though it's an IVR, so that it would register properly to the new IP Address and therefore not get dead air? Before everyone jump the gun at our support and service, without any, zero knowledge of the actual situation, on top of that, hours after an IP migration, also, not given a chance to resolve the situation with the customer even if he consider the response was not appropriate, even though I'm 100% available here on this forum, and I personally wrote to him earlier today to let me know how his new experience is with the new Montreal upgrade?

I know many people hate Quebec but keep it out of technical threads. Our staff is international.

--
Martin - VoiP.ms



IanBarnes
SofSwitch

join:2012-12-13
North Americ

And not to mention that all these armchair quarterbacks don't actually run companies, but sure like to think they do


amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo
reply to MartinM

said by MartinM:

I noticed you haven't updated your thread since the update, about not having any more registration issues.

By the way, this forum is not an unofficial VoIP.ms complain forum. Might want to keep a note about that. I also replied to your Private Messages, no replies. I'm really not sure what the hell I'm doing here.

Hello Martin,

I did PM you about Montreal2 registration issues and I did not get a PM back as you state. I did not want to air that since things are busy for you. Please resend if you did as I received no replies to my 2 PM's to you one with the tcpdump from my WAN.

I understand the ticket system is the official support. I post here to find out if its just me or other users.

If you want the ticket number to have a look, please PM me to ensure your messages get to me and I will send it back. I would rather have the issue resolved so I can use the server. I will update my other thread concerning Montreal2 registration.

amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo
reply to lilarry

said by lilarry:

Just tried an existing IVR on montreal2. Working fine. Calls complete - both inbound to IVR and outbound to selected registered devices.

Hi,

My calls go through no problem. What occurs is when the caller makes a selection of 1 (as an example), the destination phone will ring. While the phone is ringing, the caller only hears dead air until the telephone is picked up. Do you experience this?. It does not happen on Chicago.

MartinM
VoIP.ms
Premium,VIP
join:2008-07-21
kudos:3

2 edits
reply to IanBarnes

said by IanBarnes:

And not to mention that all these armchair quarterbacks don't actually run companies, but sure like to think they do

said by IanBarnes:

And not to mention that all these armchair quarterbacks don't actually run companies, but sure like to think they do

The problem mainly is users post an issue they are not satisfied with. Immediately the crowd interpretation seem to be that the provider failed. In the mix of the posts, you get a bunch of useless posts like "Try provider X, at least they work" and other jokes as to the staff not understanding the english language.

This thread for example, would the issue have been resolved/fixed had the OP updated his ticket, and the support staff continued to help / escalate this? Probably, it's not like we stop helping after a first reply and this thread was used as a last resort, desperate cry for help. Hell no we've specific instructions given to staff at the moment to pay extra attention to Montreal, and have extra staff in place today (we ususally have reduced technical staff at the office during the week-end), but no we put more just to assist in case users experience issues with the latest update to Montreal. But what happened in this case? Many users assumed we sucked, because they decided to do their own interpretation of the situation.

So my concern is mainly this: Has this forum become a place to post a complain, and automatically having the community assume the customer is 100% right, that the provider failed, the support failed and that their favorite provider is better, without, in most cases, any solid basis to their automatically assumed position vis-a-vis the provider involved in the thread. No contexts, usually no support logs, no knowledge of diagnostics or what may have happened, no knowledge of what's going on behind the scenes (In the case of this thread, we had a hardware upgrade AND a software upgrade the very same day, we jumped two branches up, while we worked hard to iron out every possible issues some might have slipped) Are these threads really useful? Especially when a 100% review of a competitor is immediately posted after a customer has expressed his satisfactory issues in public?

It seem that these days, it's mostly what DSLR is about. Sure there are helpful threads, but so many consist of my favorite provider is better than yours and My Provider suck because they told me that, and everyone jumping on the bandwagon, often with nothing to bring to the issue. Threads get hijacked all the time etc.

Anyway, I'm not going anywhere, but some of us had only a few hours of sleep in the last 72 hours with Montreal, that was the first POP to receive BOTH an hardware and software upgrade. The rest of the server upgrades will be much easier now that we've done it with one pop, but anyway... I'm side tracking here, really need some sleep.

--------------------------------------------

To: OP

Please make sure you update the ticket you're having in regards with this issue, and PM the number to me, I will do everything I can to find the cause / resolve this.

---------------------------------------------------

To all sorry for long rant
--
Martin - VoiP.ms

garys_2k
Premium
join:2004-05-07
Farmington, MI

Best of luck, Martin! My bet is that you're going to get your entire system running perfectly in very short order.


amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo

2 edits

1 recommendation

reply to MartinM

said by MartinM:

said by IanBarnes:

And not to mention that all these armchair quarterbacks don't actually run companies, but sure like to think they do

said by IanBarnes:

And not to mention that all these armchair quarterbacks don't actually run companies, but sure like to think they do

The problem mainly is users post an issue they are not satisfied with. Immediately the crowd interpretation seem to be that the provider failed. In the mix of the posts, you get a bunch of useless posts like "Try provider X, at least they work" and other jokes as to the staff not understanding the english language.

This thread for example, would the issue have been resolved/fixed had the OP updated his ticket, and the support staff continued to help / escalate this? Probably, it's not like we stop helping after a first reply and this thread was used as a last resort, desperate cry for help. Hell no we've specific instructions given to staff at the moment to pay extra attention to Montreal, and have extra staff in place today (we ususally have reduced technical staff at the office during the week-end), but no we put more just to assist in case users experience issues with the latest update to Montreal. But what happened in this case? Many users assumed we sucked, because they decided to do their own interpretation of the situation.

So my concern is mainly this: Has this forum become a place to post a complain, and automatically having the community assume the customer is 100% right, that the provider failed, the support failed and that their favorite provider is better, without, in most cases, any solid basis to their automatically assumed position vis-a-vis the provider involved in the thread. No contexts, usually no support logs, no knowledge of diagnostics or what may have happened, no knowledge of what's going on behind the scenes (In the case of this thread, we had a hardware upgrade AND a software upgrade the very same day, we jumped two branches up, while we worked hard to iron out every possible issues some might have slipped) Are these threads really useful? Especially when a 100% review of a competitor is immediately posted after a customer has expressed his satisfactory issues in public?

It seem that these days, it's mostly what DSLR is about. Sure there are helpful threads, but so many consist of my favorite provider is better than yours and My Provider suck because they told me that, and everyone jumping on the bandwagon, often with nothing to bring to the issue. Threads get hijacked all the time etc.

Anyway, I'm not going anywhere, but some of us had only a few hours of sleep in the last 72 hours with Montreal, that was the first POP to receive BOTH an hardware and software upgrade. The rest of the server upgrades will be much easier now that we've done it with one pop, but anyway... I'm side tracking here, really need some sleep.

--------------------------------------------

To: OP

Please make sure you update the ticket you're having in regards with this issue, and PM the number to me, I will do everything I can to find the cause / resolve this.

---------------------------------------------------

To all sorry for long rant

Martin,

First, I have PM'd the ticket number to you. I updated it in the morning when crawling out of bed and seeing this "side show"!.

Secondly, my review of Callcentric was in no relation to this issue. It just so happens I choose the wrong time to post my review. I was online and was helped by Iscream as detailed in my review this past week. I do apologize if it seems to you that was my intention.

Finally, Do you see me changing my voip.ms review?. If it was intentional, my 100% would not be 100 percent.

Again, my intention to post here is to find out if someone else has the issue other then me. I want to know if its my equipment first. In this post, Mango was nice enough to test and confirm for me. Please don't try to read between the lines and make assumptions. I still love my voip.ms!

amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
reply to amd64now

Ok, just an update. Voip.ms support called me to confirm the issue. They now know the issue and will work on it. I switched to montreal2 to show the issue and they confirmed. Excellent work and thank-you!. Hope to see a resolution.


Mango
What router are you using?
Premium
join:2008-12-25
www.toao.net
kudos:12

That is great to hear.


MartinM
VoIP.ms
Premium,VIP
join:2008-07-21
kudos:3

1 recommendation

reply to amd64now

Hello AMD, and sorry again for the rant.

I just spoke with support guys and they were able to find your ticket for me.

It seem that the issue is when the a call to an IVR hit a key to dial a registered device, there's no ring tone / sound until the called party picks up.

As some of you may already know, we handle that stuff with a modified Asterisk source code. We moved to 1.8.15-Cert1 in the latest upgrade, from 1.4. This will certainly add a great deal of stability and reliability this upgrade will be propagated to all servers. Unfortunately, even with the hundreds of tests we performed, there still seem to be small issues like this to iron out.

The guys were able to replicate, and we're working at a resolution with another System Administrator.

We'll find a resolution to this. Thanks
--
Martin - VoiP.ms


amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON
Reviews:
·voip.ms
·Callcentric
·Anveo

said by MartinM:

Hello AMD, and sorry again for the rant.

I just spoke with support guys and they were able to find your ticket for me.

It seem that the issue is when the a call to an IVR hit a key to dial a registered device, there's no ring tone / sound until the called party picks up.

As some of you may already know, we handle that stuff with a modified Asterisk source code. We moved to 1.8.15-Cert1 in the latest upgrade, from 1.4. This will certainly add a great deal of stability and reliability this upgrade will be propagated to all servers. Unfortunately, even with the hundreds of tests we performed, there still seem to be small issues like this to iron out.

The guys were able to replicate, and we're working at a resolution with another System Administrator.

We'll find a resolution to this. Thanks

No problem and I am glad we are all on the same page to resolve this small issue. I will wait to hear from you or your support.


dbmaven
There's no shortage
Premium,Mod
join:1999-10-26
Sty in Sky
kudos:3
reply to amd64now

(topic move) [Voip.ms] IVR on new Montreal2 server

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 2 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »(post #27926179 no longer exists)


amd64now

join:2007-04-01
Orleans, ON

2 recommendations

reply to amd64now

Re: [Voip.ms] IVR on new Montreal2 server

I got an update on my ticket. Everything is now resolved with this issue. Tested it and all is working fine with IVR on Montreal2. Thank-you voip.ms


garys_2k
Premium
join:2004-05-07
Farmington, MI

Great! Hopefully they'll get the hardware and software fixes rolled out network-wide and the threads about issues will dry up. It sounds like they're off to an excellent start.


lilarry
Premium
join:2010-04-06
reply to amd64now

Same or similar problem now on new Chicago server. Hopefully a quick fix if it is the same issue as Montreal.


MartinM
VoIP.ms
Premium,VIP
join:2008-07-21
kudos:3

said by lilarry:

Same or similar problem now on new Chicago server. Hopefully a quick fix if it is the same issue as Montreal.

We made sure not to repeat the mistake when we upgraded chicago. The problem was with inband tones not being played (ringing, busy etc)

--
Martin - VoiP.ms

lilarry
Premium
join:2010-04-06
reply to lilarry

Looks like this one may have been my fault. I have discovered that some devices that we thought were updated were inadvertently still registered to the old Chicago IP. (We have specific reasons to register SOME devices to the IP rather than the domain name, which is generally recommended). We have corrected those registrations and now things seem to be working properly.

If anyone is having any problems with the new servers, first make sure your device(s) are actually correctly registered to the new servers. Also, reboot your devices just to be sure (as recommended in the Voip.ms emails that went out).

Thanks Martin for the response here - and to Alex for the quick response to my trouble ticket.