spc
Search similar:

uniqs

elanp
@myvzw.com

elanp

Anon

Hot Water Runs Out Quickly: What's Wrong With My Water Heate

The hot water runs out really quickly all of a sudden. It just started a few days ago. I can only get about 3 inches in the tub before it goes cold. Before, I could take a 20-minute shower. I have an '01 Craftsmaster (gas). I've heard about dip tubes going bad, but I don't think that applies to this model. Any ideas?

jack b
Gone Fishing
MVM
join:2000-09-08
Cape Cod

jack b

MVM

It applies to all tank-type heaters.

That heater (12 yr old? ) is on borrowed time. Don't even bother trying to fix it.

alkizmo
join:2007-06-25
Pierrefonds, QC

alkizmo

you have a defective element.

shdesigns
Powered By Infinite Improbabilty Drive
Premium Member
join:2000-12-01
Stone Mountain, GA

shdesigns

Premium Member

said by alkizmo:

you have a defective element.

On a gas water heater?

alkizmo
join:2007-06-25
Pierrefonds, QC

alkizmo

is there such a thing? (in multiples i mean)
only reason he'd have SOME hot water.

garys_2k
Premium Member
join:2004-05-07
Farmington, MI

garys_2k to elanp

Premium Member

to elanp
Why don't you think you have a broken dip tube? Your symptoms, very little hot water, are exactly right for that problem.

elanp
@myvzw.com

elanp

Anon

Supposedly, dip tube problems are only with water heaters built in 1993-97.

jkj860
The Final Frontier
join:2002-01-10
Valparaiso, IN

jkj860 to elanp

to elanp
I would agree with garys_2k on the dip tube. Seems obvious but check the temp setting. Mine got moved once and that was the last thing I looked at.

tp0d
yabbazooie
Premium Member
join:2001-02-13
Bulger, PA

tp0d

Premium Member

Some newer dip tubes have a closed end... If there is something in the end of the tube clogging it, it can cause cold water to spray in a different direction, dropping the temperature of the tank..