@comcastbusiness.net

[General] IVR new setup

Hi Team,
i could not find this info online.
i am new to IVR,
what am i looking at for cost if all i want is

people call from outside,
get few options recorded,
punch in few DTMF options back to an SAP server, via ip.

no call center, no other fancy stuff.
i want a HW based thing, at the site where the SAP server is.

thats all

thanks

Stewart

join:2005-07-13
kudos:24

1 recommendation

Your question is too vague to give a specific answer. I assume that callers will query and possibly update an SAP database. Is that correct? Could you provide an example of what a caller would hear and enter for a typical transaction? How many concurrent callers do you expect?

If you will be processing only a few callers at a time, you can run Asterisk or FreeSWITCH on almost any physical or virtual server at your location. The software itself is free. If the incoming VoIP service is toll-free, expect to pay two to three cents per minute, plus a few dollars per month. For a local number, you'll pay $8 to $20 per month for each channel of call capacity.

The cost of setting up the system can be substantial, if you need prompts in multiple languages, have complex menus or help messages, have special security or logging requirements, etc. You may also want to pay for professional voice talent. If you don't have the skills in-house, there are companies that specialize in developing custom IVRs.

If the general public will be calling in, you should consider a speech-enabled IVR; it's dangerous to enter DTMF while driving.

java1900

@comcastbusiness.net

Hi Stewart,

here is the setup,

a driver would call in after finishing his load from the PSTN that number, and only drivers do,
that number will give very few prompts to accept load number, location code, and amount,
all to be done thru DTMF RELAY, no more than 20 digits all together,

then
that dtmf need to go to SAP webservices enabled server via IP.

thats all