republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Web page ·Network Status ·RR FORUM FAQ ·Cable Users FAQ ·Tweaks ·Broadband Modem
AuthorAll Replies

cramer

join:2007-04-10
Raleigh, NC
kudos:7

reply to spider62

Re: [TWC] SORBS blacklisting a RR IP

174.111.58.63 -> cpe-174-111-058-063.triad.res.rr.com

That's a dynamic / residential, you-are-not-supposed-to-be-sending-smtp-from-here address. Pretty much no one on earth is going to allow you in.

Now, if you are submitting email from a "mail user agent" (i.e. Outlook) to an email server (a "mail transfer agent") -- i.e. your company's mail server... a) you shouldn't be doing this on port 25, but outlook is brain dead here, b) you should be authenticating with this server so it knows you're not John Q. Public trying to relay SPAM. (Really, you should be using a VPN and not have to worry about this.)

spider62

join:2001-03-19
Clemmons, NC

So the plot thickens,

I have been using the same process for over three years.

I have configured my outlook to use an IMAP through my work address.

Should I use the TWC SMTP to outbound my email?

cramer

join:2007-04-10
Raleigh, NC
kudos:7

That's a discussion to have with your system administrator. If I were the admin, you'd be using encryption, user authentication, and not port 25.


Sunday, 19-May 11:21:12 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 13.5 years online © 1999-2013 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics