spc
Search similar:

uniqs

junior70
@bellsouth.com

junior70

Anon

[WildBlue] DNS problems

Question: with all the talk about different DNS problems, is there a reason why I cant just plug Google's free DNS numbers into my router and be done with it? I am an electronics tech but not a network tech so i am limited in my knowledge of networking.

wm4bama
join:2012-05-10
Goodwater, AL

wm4bama

The DNS discussions are from Wildblue/Exede customers having problems with DNS resolution on some servers/beams.

Exede will hijack any 3rd party DNS request and route it to their own servers...so if you're an Exede customer it does you no good to install Google's or anyone elses DNS IP's...and it can actually cause bigger problems.
DrStrangLov
join:2012-03-28

DrStrangLov to junior70

to junior70
said by junior70 :

is there a reason why I cant just plug Google's free DNS numbers into my router

It's really not needed, even if it could be done. One could setup a home DNS server, but it is not needed.

There are two main reasons for not using your ISP's DNS server:

1. Speed Increase - For land based users with an ISP with a slow server, one may see pages load faster. On satellite systems using proxy accelerators, this has no effect.

2. Safe Browsing - At least one DNS providers will eliminate those "bad" sites from being displayed.

Function of DNS server is to convert a domain name into its numerical format. I have a few URLs saved in both domain name and in their numerical name.

A person can edit their local host file,

»www.howtogeek.com/howto/ ··· ts-file/

68.177.32.9 forecast.weather.gov

But, if that numerical IP changes, you will not be able to access site.
silbaco
Premium Member
join:2009-08-03
USA

silbaco to junior70

Premium Member

to junior70