Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

The WeaseL
Premium
join:2001-12-03
Minnesota

Debian box locking up

I'm a fairly novice Linux user, so speak slowly, use small words.

I've got a Debian box running MySQL and Drupal. Runs fine, save for the occasional complete lock up. Cannot even access it from a console. Only option is to do hard reboot.

I have no idea where to start as far as digging into logs to see if I can find something, so I am hoping for a few pointers.
--
How lucky am I to have known someone who is so hard to say good-bye to.

VVSneakEh

join:2003-02-17
Toronto, ON
Probably hardware related, has this box run another OS successfully?

graysonf
Premium,MVM
join:1999-07-16
Fort Lauderdale, FL
kudos:2
reply to The WeaseL
Test the memory with Memtest86 or similar.

The WeaseL
Premium
Minnesota
reply to The WeaseL
Running in VMWare on our cluster, all other servers are running ok.

Selenia
Gentoo Convert
Premium
join:2006-09-22
Fort Smith, AR
reply to The WeaseL
Debian is rock solid. So rock solid that the only time it did this on me was when my hard drive was failing. Could be bad memory or a bad driver too. Do you see anything above warnings, like "error", "fatal" or "critical" in dmesg? Just type it in the terminal to see it. Do you run any other OS? If so, does it have the same issue? That could narrow this down a lot. Debian is solid, but drivers can suck. I remember when I needed fglrx and it was so bad that lockups during OpenGL apps was considered the norm for some graphics cards in any Linux distribution. Glad those days are gone. Still, you see some stragglers here and there, as drivers go. I just had to drop a defective bleeding edge xorg update because enabling compositing=crash(at least for the GUI, but could terminal in). Running beautiful again now that I rolled back.
--
A fool thinks they know everything.

A wise person knows enough to know they couldn't possibly know everything.