uniqs
share rss forum feed

natedj
Elected
Premium
join:2001-06-06
Columbia, SC

[Access] I need help creating a "Grand Total" column

I'm a noob at access and have this database on donors that is very basic.
I ran a query that gave me the Donor's first and last name and a sum of each category they donated to, for a total of (5) columns.

How do I add a 6th column that would give a grand total of John Doe's donation? I'm using Access 2007.

TIA
--
Good judgement comes with experience...Experience comes after bad judgements

HolmanGT
HolmanGT
Premium
join:2001-11-20
Washington, UT

Re: [Access] I need help creating a "Grand Total" colu

Click for full size
Select the cells you want to sum plus one additional cell for the sum and click on the summation button... viola !!!

My example is Excel 2010 but they are all pretty much the same unless you really meant Access in which case I have no idea except to import the data base into Excell.

Good Luck

natedj
Elected
Premium
Columbia, SC
This has to be done in Access.
I've been exporting to excel and creating my totals that way but it is getting tedious and I know I can eliminate a lot of steps If i can can get Access to display the totals for me.
--

HolmanGT
HolmanGT
Premium
join:2001-11-20
Washington, UT
Oh-well nothing is ever easy.

I have played with Access years ago and I seem to remember that almost anything you can do in Excel can be done in Access.

Try doing a search for some templates that claim to do something close to what you need and reverse engineer it.

Nothing like a little plagiary or why reinvent the wheel.

PS - IMHO Access was never designed for mere mortals.

mjhouser
Premium
join:2001-10-06
reply to natedj
Have you looked at this yet? It should get you going in the right direction. »groups.google.com/forum/?fromgro···PKNYdw2k

Laramar

join:2002-08-23
Minneapolis, MN
reply to natedj
View the query in SQL mode, then add this in the SELECT line:
Food+Clothing+Shelter AS Total