spc
Search similar:

uniqs

teksavvyuser
@teksavvy.com

teksavvyuser

Anon

[Cable] SBG6580 Problems

I have been using a Motorola SBG6580 modem now for about 4 months on the Teksavvy network via Rogers Cable.

The modem disconnects from the network every few hours or so at random. I have found the following related discussion about it:

»forums.comcast.com/t5/Ba ··· U1515401

The firmware in the modem is 3.1.0.0 and there's no way to get the newer firmware. The DOCSIS 3 spec is designed to disallow flashing the firmware except over the wire from the ISP.

Like everyone else I got it at TigerDirect. And it's not difficult to get Teksavvy to provision it (see other posts on this topic). It's a great device. Great speed. The integrated wifi works great. But the disconnects are such a pain that I'm thinking of replacing it with an on-list Motorola model. It's a shame, though.

The only mitigation I have found is that when you detect that your internet connection has died, you login to the device via »192.168.0.1/. That seems to force it to renegatiate the connection with the ISP. This is just voodoo on my part; I'm not sure if that is what is happening but it seems to work.

Any comments or suggestions on ameliorating this problem would be appreciated. Thanks.

AOD
Premium Member
join:2008-01-24
M9B

AOD

Premium Member

The modem isn't on the list of supported modems. You might be SOL on this one. Teksavvy doesn't flash or provision the modems Rogers does. I'm pretty sure they will not upgrade the firmware on it either.

TwiztedZero
Nine Zero Burp Nine Six
Premium Member
join:2011-03-31
Toronto, ON

TwiztedZero

Premium Member

^ What AOD See Profile said above. Its not a widely supported modem and not on the approved list.

Its times like these when you take matters into your own hands and assume the risks involved.