uniqs
share rss forum feed

signmeuptoo
Bless you Howie
Premium
join:2001-11-22
NanoParticle
kudos:5

Laptop: Chipset, processor, features, prices: What to do?

I'm hoping for a tax refund in the coming month or so. I will have around 500 to work with, but I'm tempted to just get a refurb off of tigerdirect for around 3-4 hundred.

I haven't bought a laptop in 18 years, so I have no experience and don't know all that I should know of what to look for, what brands are bad, what service contracts to get, which processor, which chipset, how much RAM, etcetera.

Ok, uses:

Hopefully will be studying computer science (probably programming/app dev, but possibly IT), need a system that will let me take notes in class (I'm thinking 3 hours battery life?).

Want win7 or win8 (any reason that I need win8?)

How much RAM do I need, do I need more than 4 gig? If so, will 6 gig be fine? I don't yet know what software I'll be running, but it will probably be community college stuff, C++, Java, and the like.

Help me understand the Intel processors, there are these Pentium chips, why are they still selling chips as "pentium" and how much worse is such a chip from an i3? What things should I know about them, and other processors?

What chipset should I favor?

Want webcam, for sure.

Want USB 3.0.

Want medium screen 14-15+ inch ?

Want keyboard that will type easily, I have poor coorodination and have difficulty with some laptop keyboards, what do I look for? What things should the keyboard have, what keys? How do they differ these days?

Touchpad questions: I've worked at laptops where wresting my palms down meant the touchpad would make the cursor jump making typing a nightmare, how do I avoid such a headache?

What is lojack, and what can I do to protect myself from computer theft?

Want Wireless N support.

Want speakers to be loud enough to be audible.

Prefer LED backlight, I think, am I right?

Is it correct that ACER/ALI laptops and service is to be avoided?