Caveat Emptor
Premium
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit
kudos:12
reply to bionicRod

Re: [Rant] Dark Souls: A Shitty console port

said by bionicRod:

This is why I have consoles and a gaming PC. The game is really good, but it is a known shitty port to the PC. The same thing is coming up with Dead Space 3. If I were going to get it (which I'm not...microtransactions in a sp game? dickish PC comments from the dev team leader? pass) I'd get it on a console.

I may do that--the premise looked good, but I was extremely disappointed the execution. I took maybe half an hour to try to get everything right, but ended up just deleting the game when it kept yelling at me to Press A! Press B! Press LB! Press RB!

It's not hard to point the code at the action and not the stupid controller button. I'm not a coder, but it should go something like:
(buttonboundtogameaction=Use, lookupfromtablekeybindfor'Use', 'Use'=spacebar)="Press spacebar!"

But they went the lazy route, and assumed that 1) console players would never (or are unable to) remap their controls, and 2) PC gamers would never play their game anyways.

That way if you rebind it, the prompt in the game will change as well. This is nothing but lazy coding, and you're a bad developer if you don't KNOW what makes a good PC game. Unless they grew up purposefully avoiding PCs, then they have no business in the gaming market, as that means they couldn't even hire a PC advisor to steer them away from the console port pitfalls.

And nobody better dare tell me to get a controller to enjoy the game. This is the PC gaming forum, and I better be able to do it with my keyboard and mouse (unless it's a flight sim).

I'd love to see a game developer try to put console players and PC gamers in the same universe in something like a shooter... PC gamers would rape all the console gamers until they figured out how to hack a mouse to work with their xbox.
--